Carol Burnett to Receive Golden Globes' Inaugural TV Special Achievement Award

Awards   Carol Burnett to Receive Golden Globes' Inaugural TV Special Achievement Award
The special honor will also be named after the stage and screen comedy icon.
Carol Burnett
Carol Burnett

Beloved stage and screen star Carol Burnett will be presented with the Hollywood Foreign Press Association's inaugural television special achievement award at the 76th annual Golden Globe Awards. The honor will aptly be named after her—the Carol Burnett Award—and serve as a TV counterpart to the Globes' Cecil B. DeMille Award for film.

The 2019 ceremony will take place January 6, 2019, broadcast live from the Beverly Hilton on NBC.


“For more than 50 years, comedy trailblazer Carol Burnett has been breaking barriers while making us laugh,” said HFPA President Meher Tatna in a statement. “She was the first woman to host a variety sketch show: The Carol Burnett Show. She was also the first woman to win both the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor and Kennedy Center Honors. And now we add another first to her running list: the first recipient—and namesake—of the new Golden Globe top honor for achievement in television. We are profoundly grateful for her contributions to the entertainment industry and honored to celebrate her legacy forever at the Golden Globes.”

The Carol Burnett Show earned the performer five Golden Globes over the course of ten years. She also received multiple Emmys for the variety series, which often saw Burnett deliver laughs with such fellow theatre icons as Bernadette Peters, Ethel Merman, and Carol Channing. The show celebrated its 50th anniversary last year. She is also known to many for her star turn as Miss Hannigan in the 1982 film adaptation of Annie, as well as Tony-nominated turns in Once Upon a Mattress and Moon Over Buffalo. She last appeared on Broadway in Love Letters.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: