Carousel, Once On This Island Among 2018 Chita Rivera Award Nominations | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Carousel, Once On This Island Among 2018 Chita Rivera Award Nominations The ceremony, honoring the best in dance on stage and screen, will take place May 20.
Carousel and Once On This Island Julieta Cervantes/Joan Marcus

Nominations for the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards (formerly the Fred and Adele Astaire Awards) were revealed April 27. The awards, named after the stage legend (set to receive an honorary Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Tony Award this year), honor choreographers and dancers on Broadway and Off-Broadway stages, as well as in film.

Ariana DeBose Joan Marcus

Awards will be presented at the May 20 ceremony at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts following a nominees reception April 30.

The Broadway revival of Carousel led the pack for Broadway productions with seven nominations, including nods for Outstanding Choreography for Justin Peck and for Outstanding Ensemble.

Rounding out both the Outstanding Choreography and Ensemble categories were Once On This Island, SpongeBob SquarePants, Mean Girls, and Summer: The Donna Summer Musical, which each earned an additional third nod for a dancer in the production.

As previously announced, Carmen De Lavallade, John Kander, and Harold Prince will receive special honors at the May ceremony.

See below for the full list of nominations.


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show
Camille A. Brown, Once On This Island
Christopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePants
Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls
Justin Peck, Carousel
Sergio Trujillo, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show
Mean Girls
Once On This Island
SpongeBob SquarePants
Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show
Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady
Andrei Chagas, Carousel
Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants
Amar Ramasar, Carousel
Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show
Yesenia Ayala, Carousel
Ariana DeBose, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical
Hailey Kilgore, Once On This Island
Katrina Lenk, The Band's Visit
Skye Mattox, Carousel
Ashley Park, Mean Girls
Brittany Pollack, Carousel

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show
Nejla Yatkin, The Boy Who Danced on Air
Sonya Tayeh, Hundred Days
Zach Morris & Jennine Willet, Ghost Light
Chris Bailey, Jerry Springer: The Opera
Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only

Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Anna Bass, One Night Only
Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only
Elizabeth Carena, Ghost Light
Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer: The Opera
Kenita R. Miller, Bella

Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show
Colin Campbell, Disco Pigs
Robert Fairchild, Frankenstein
Troy Iwata, The Boy Who Danced on Air
Evan Ruggiero, Bastard Jones
Nikhil Saboo, The Boy Who Danced on Air


Theatrical Release
Basmati Blues - Choreographed by Noemie LaFrance, Rajeev, Dimple Ganguly, Vijay Ganguly, and Ryan Heffington
Finding Your Feet - Choreographed by Mark Jennings
Hello Again - Choreographed by Todd Underwood
Polina, danser sa vie - Choreographed by Angelin Preljocaj
The Greatest Showman - Choreographed by Shannon Holtzapffel and Ashley Wallen

Step - Directed by Amanda Lipitz
Bobbi Jene - Directed by Elvira Lind
Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer - Directed by David Barba and James Pellerito

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!