Cast Recording of Broadway's Chaplin Hits Shelves Jan. 8

News   Cast Recording of Broadway's Chaplin Hits Shelves Jan. 8
The original Broadway cast recording of Chaplin, the musical about the life of silent film star Charlie Chaplin, hits shelves Jan. 8. 

Rob McClure as Chaplin
Rob McClure as Chaplin Photo by Joan Marcus

Produced by Grammy winner David Lai, the Broadway company recorded the new musical Nov. 5, 2012. The soundtrack was released digitally by Masterworks Broadway Dec. 4, 2012. 

Chaplin features music and lyrics by Christopher Curtis and a book by three-time Tony Award winner Thomas Meehan (Annie, The Producers, Hairspray) and Curtis.

Bryan Perri was the musical director of the musical, and orchestrations are by Larry Hochman. Jonathan Tunick and Michael Starobin provided additional orchestrations with vocal arrangements by Bryan Perri and dance arrangements by Perri and Curtis.

A complete track list follows: 

1. Overture
2. Look at All the People
3. Whatcha Gonna Do?
4. If I Left London
5. Sennett Song
6. Look at All the People (Reprise)
7. Tramp Shuffle Pt. 1
8. Tramp Shuffle Pt. 2
9. Life Can Be Like the Movies
10. The Look-A-Like Contest
11. Just Another Day in Hollywood
12. The Life That You Wished For
13. When It All Falls Down
14. The Man of All Countries
15. What Only Love Can See
16. The Exile
17. Where Are All the People?
18. What Only Love Can See (Reprise)
19. This Man
20. Finale/Tramp Reprise   Click here for the exclusive listen of "Where Are All the People?" 

Chaplin, which officially opened at Broadway's Barrymore Theatre Sept. 10, 2012, starred critically acclaimed Barrymore Award winner Rob McClure in the title role and concluded its Broadway engagement Jan. 6. Previews began Aug. 21, 2012.

McClure, who previously starred on Broadway in Avenue Q, originated the role of Chaplin in 2010 at La Jolla Playhouse, where the musical received its world premiere under the title of Limelight; that staging received Craig Noel Awards for Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical (McClure) and Outstanding New Musical. 

The cast also included Jim Borstelmann (The Addams Family, Young Frankenstein) as Alf Reeves, Chaplin's longtime friend and production manager; Jenn Colella (High Fidelity, Urban Cowboy) as Hedda Hopper, a powerful gossip columnist determined to bring down the Little Tramp; Erin Mackey (Anything Goes, Wicked) as the young Oona O'Neill, Chaplin's last wife; Michael McCormick (Elf, Curtains) as producer Sennett, McGranery/Emcee; Tony Award nominee Christiane Noll (Ragtime, Jekyll & Hyde) as Chaplin's mother, Hannah, who appears through a series of flashbacks; Zachary Unger (Encores! Merrily We Roll Along) as Young Charlie/Jackie; and Wayne Alan Wilcox (The Normal Heart) as older brother Sydney Chaplin.

Rounding out the ensemble were Justin Bowen, Emilee Dupré, Sara Edwards, Leslie Donna Flesner, Lisa Gajda, Timothy Hughes, Ethan Khusidman, Ian Liberto, Renée Marino, Michael Mendez, Sarah O'Gleby, Hayley Podschun, Adam Rogers, William Ryall, Eric Santagata and Emily Tyra.


For information on the recording, visit For other recordings, visit the Playbill Store

Today’s Most Popular News: