Cast Recording of Spring Awakening to Be Released by Decca Dec. 5

News   Cast Recording of Spring Awakening to Be Released by Decca Dec. 5
The cast recording of the Broadway-bound musical Spring Awakening will be released by Decca on Dec. 5, according to

The musical — based on Frank Wedekind's 1891 expressionist play about teen angst, sexuality and suicide — is a collaboration between composer Duncan Sheik and lyricist-librettist Steven Sater and was a sensation at Off-Broadway's Atlantic Theater Company this past spring.

Previews begin Nov. 16 at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre toward an opening night of Dec. 10.

Returning in the roles they created Off-Broadway is the entire youth ensemble: Skylar Astin (Georg), Lilli Cooper (Martha), John Gallagher Jr. (Moritz), Gideon Glick (Ernst), Jonathan Groff (Melchior), Brian Johnson (Otto), Lea Michele (Wendla), Lauren Pritchard (Ilse), Phoebe Strole (Anna), Jonathan B. Wright (Hanschen) and Remy Zaken (Thea). New to the Broadway production, as the two adults, are Stephen Spinella and Christine Estabrook.

Michael Mayer (A View from the Bridge, Side Man, Thoroughly Modern Millie) again directs, and choreographer Bill T. Jones returns.

Also returning are costume designer Susan Hilferty, set designer Christine Jones and lighting designer Kevin Adams. The track listing, according to, runs as follows:

1. Mamma Who Bore Me
2. Mamma Who Bore Me (Reprise)
3. All That's Known
4. The B*tch of Living
5. My Junk
6. Touch Me
7. The Word of Your Body
8. The Dark I Know Well
9. And Then There Were None
10. The Mirror-Blue Night
11. I Believe
12. Don't Do Sadness
13. Blue Wind
14. The Guilty Ones
15. Left Behind
16. Totally F*ucked
17. The Word of Your Body (Reprise)
18. Whispering
19. Those You've Known
20. The Song of Purple Summer

Today’s Most Popular News: