Cast Recording of The Frogs to Hit Stores Jan. 25

News   Cast Recording of The Frogs to Hit Stores Jan. 25
The cast recording of Stephen Sondheim and Nathan Lane's The Frogs will reach stores on Jan. 25, 2005, according to the PS Classics website.

The cast of the Lincoln Center Theater production went into the recording studio on Oct. 12 to commit the score to CD. The production, directed and chreographed by Susan Stroman at Lincoln Center Theater, closed on Oct. 10 after a nearly four-month-long run.

The musical, based on a brief 1974 effort by Sondheim and Burt Shrevelove, features a half dozen new songs by Sondheim and marks star Lane's first attempt at writing a musical theatre libretto.

Nathan Lane starred as Dionysos in the musical, which is based on the Aristophanes classic. The ancient play focuses on a debate between Aeschylus and Euripides, to determine who is the greater artist. The winner of the contest returned to Earth with Dionysos to save civilization.

Also in the cast were John Byner (Charon), Peter Bartlett (Pluto), Daniel Davis (Shaw), Burke Moses (Herakles) and Michael Siberry (Shakespeare).

Tommy Krasker produces the recording. Krasker also produced a disc of The Frogs/Evening Primrose for Nonesuch in 2001. It also featured Lane. Sondheim (Assassins) and librettist Burt Shevelove wrote the show for a production staged in the Yale swimming pool in 1974. The story was updated to feature a debate between William Shakespeare and George Bernard Shaw and has traditionally required elaborate special effects, a large cast of actors skilled in both acting and swimming and an exhibition pool in which they perform.

The songlist, according to the Playbill, runs as follows:

"Invocation and Instructions to the Audience"
"I Love to Travel"
"Dress Big"
"I Love to Travel"
"All Aboard"
"The Frogs"
"Hymn to Dionysos"
"It's Only a Play"
"All Aboard"
"Fear No More" (lyrics from Shakespeare's Cymbeline)
"Hymn to Dionysos"


Today’s Most Popular News: