Catch Me If You Can Leads Astaire Award Nominations

News   Catch Me If You Can Leads Astaire Award Nominations
Patina Miller, Sutton Foster, Daniel Radcliffe, Nick Adams and Aaron Tveit are among the nominees for the 2011 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, honoring excellence in dance on Broadway and in film, which will be presented May 15 at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Aaron Tveit in Catch Me If You Can
Aaron Tveit in Catch Me If You Can Photo by Joan Marcus

Broadway's Catch Me If You Can leads with six nominations. Other shows recognized include The Book of Mormon, War Horse, Wonderland, The Scottsboro Boys and Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson.

Joe Lanteri will step in as director of the 2011 awards, which were originally announced to take place May 23 under the direction of Tony-winning choreographer Jerry Mitchell (Catch Me If You Can, Hairspray, Legally Blonde).

The Astaire Awards were established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to honor him and his sister, Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931.

The 2011 Astaire Awards nominees follow:

Rob Ashford (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying)
Marguerite Derricks (Wonderland)
Kathleen Marshall (Anything Goes)
Jerry Mitchell (Catch Me if You Can)
Toby Sedgwick (War Horse)
Susan Stroman (The Scottsboro Boys)
Anthony Van Laast (Sister Act)
Danny Mefford (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson)
Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon) FEMALE DANCER, BROADWAY
Rachel de Benedet (Catch Me if You Can)
Sutton Foster (Anything Goes)
Jennifer Frankel (Catch Me if You Can)
J. Elaine Marcos (Pricilla Queen of the Desert)
Patina Miller (Sister Act)
Laura Osnes (Anything Goes)
Angie Schworer (Catch Me if You Can)
Megan Sikora (How to Succeed)
Samantha Zack (How to Succeed)

Nick Adams (Priscilla, Queen of the Desert)
Norbert Leo Butz (Catch Me if You Can)
Colman Domingo (The Scottsboro Boys)
Colin Donnell (Anything Goes)
Josh Gad (The Book of Mormon)
Joshua Henry (Scottsboro Boys)
Daniel Radcliffe (How to Succeed)
Aaron Tveit (Catch Me if You Can)

Benjamin Millepied ("Black Swan")
Denise Faye/Joe Pizzi ("Burlesque")
Michael Flatley ("Lord of the Dance 3D")
Graeme Murphy/Janet Vernon ("Mao's Last Dancer")
Jamal Sims ("Step It Up 3D")
Benoit-Swan Pouffer ("The Adjustment Bureau")

Jacques D’amboise will receive the 2011 Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2011 nominating committee was chaired by Sylviane Gold and includes members Anna Kisselgoff, Damian Woetzel, Wendy Perron, Manny and Lani Azenberg, Donna McKechnie, Lee Roy Reams, Wendy Federman, Barbara and Buddy Freitag, Michael Riedel, Marge Champion, Margaret Selby, Melinda Atwood, Bryan Bantry, Adam Zotovich, Andy Sandberg and Bruce Michael.

Laura Osnes and Colin Donnell
Laura Osnes and Colin Donnell
Today’s Most Popular News: