CD of GrooveLily Midsummer Music in Stores April 10

News   CD of GrooveLily Midsummer Music in Stores April 10
The new GrooveLily recording "A Little Midsummer Night's Music," on the PS Classics label, is in stores April 10 following a Feb. 9 web release.

GrooveLily, the pop trio that recently starred in the acclaimed Lucille Lortel Award-nominated Off-Broadway musical Striking 12 (the cast album of which is on PS Classics), wrote and performed new songs and instrumental music for the unique Tina Landau-directed production of Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream that played spring 2006 at the Paper Mill Playhouse and the McCarter Theatre.

Lyrics are by GrooveLily and William Shakespeare. GrooveLily vocalist, keyboardist and songwriter Brendan Milburn produced the disc.

The track list includes "When I Dream," "Overture," "Titania Suite," "Fairy Suite," "Malevolent Oberson Suite," "While You Were Sleeping," "Lysander Wakes: And Run Through Fire," "Demetrius Wakes: Oh, Helen," "Benevolent Oberon Suite," "Slings of Eros"/"Bergomask Dance"/"Bows" and "All Shall Be Well."

Valerie Vigoda in on electric violin, and Gene Lewin is on drums and percussion.

A CD booklet includes color photos from the production, lyrics and an essay by Tina Landau. For information, visit


GrooveLily's most recent collaboration is the musical Sleeping Beauty Wakes, directed and choreographed by Jeff Calhoun for Deaf West Theatre and Center Theatre Group in Los Angeles. The show, which features a cast of deaf and hearing actors, began its world-premiere run March 31 at the Kirk Douglas Theatre, opened April 7 and will play through May 13.

A new twist on the classic Grimm Brothers' fairy tale takes audiences "on a wildly theatrical journey set in parallel worlds: a fairy tale kingdom and a contemporary sleep-disorder clinic," according to producers." In both worlds, a caring father learns the difference between protecting and smothering his beloved daughter while his daughter discovers the real costs of flirting with danger, the joy of living a fully conscious and conscientious life, and the meaning of true love."

Featuring a book by Tony Award winner Rachel Sheinkin (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee) and music by Brendan Milburn and Valerie Vigoda — of the band GrooveLily (which also features Gene Lewin) — Sleeping Beauty Wakes reunites the trio who penned Striking 12 (a holiday show based on "Little Match Girl" by Hans Christian Andersen) and Wheelhouse (the autobiographical tale set on GrooveLily's touring motor home).

The cast includes Erika Amato, Deanne Bray, Clinton Derricks-Carroll, Kevin Earley, Shannon Ford, Russell Harvard, Troy Kotsur, Christia Mantzke and Alexandria Wailes with creators Brendan Milburn and Valerie Vigoda also taking part.

Today’s Most Popular News: