Chenoweth, Esparza and Monk to Perform at Dramatists Guild Awards Honoring Frankel and Foote

News   Chenoweth, Esparza and Monk to Perform at Dramatists Guild Awards Honoring Frankel and Foote
Playwright John Guare will host the Dramatists Guild Fund and Dramatists Guild of America's annual gala dinner and awards ceremony April 23, which will feature performances by Kristin Chenoweth, Raul Esparza, Debra Monk, the cast of [title of show] and more.

The annual event — which will benefit the Fund — will be held at the Hudson Theater in the Millennium Hotel. Guare will serve as master of ceremonies with Michael Greif directing. The evening will include performances from The Apple Tree, Company, Curtains, Grey Gardens, Spring Awakening and [title of show].

Along with Chenoweth, Esparza, Monk and [title of show] stars Hunter Bell, Jeff Bowen, Susan Blackwell and Heidi Blickenstaff, the performers will also include Grey Gardens actors Erin Davie and Matt Cavenaugh as well as Spring Awakening's John Gallagher Jr. and Lauren Pritchard.

Guild award winners for this year include:

Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition
("presented to a composer recognizing achievement in a body of work and continued contribution to musical theatre")
Scott Frankel for Grey Gardens

Flora Roberts Award
("presented to a theatre professional in recognition for distinguished work in the theatre")
Ed Bullins, playwright-producer Dramatists Guild Award for Lifetime Achievement
("presented in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatrical writing")
Horton Foote

The winners of the first annual Wendy Wasserstein Prize and the Hull-Warriner Award will be announced during the gala dinner.

The finalists for the Hull-Warriner Award — "the only award given by dramatists for a dramatic work... presented to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play or musical dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious or social mores of the times" — are as follows:

  • Tanya Barfield for Blue Door
  • Sarah Ruhl for The Clean House
  • Scott Frankel, Michael Korie and Doug Wright for Grey Gardens
  • David Lindsay-Abaire for Rabbit Hole
  • Adam Rapp for red light winter
  • Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik for Spring Awakening Show-only tickets (9 PM start) are available for balcony seating at $35 by calling (212) 352-3101.

    Tickets for the entire gala (including the dinner, awards presentation and performance) at the Hudson Theater in the Millennium Hotel, 145 West 44th Street, are available starting at $500 per ticket. For those tickets, contact the Dramatists Guild at

    For more information, visit the website at

  • Today’s Most Popular News: