Chicago Run of The Color Purple, with "Idol" Winner Fantasia, Begins Sept. 2

News   Chicago Run of The Color Purple, with "Idol" Winner Fantasia, Begins Sept. 2
The national tour of The Color Purple, starring Theatre World Award winner Fantasia Barrino, begins performances at the Arie Crown Theater in Chicago Sept. 2.
Fantasia Barrino in Broadway's The Color Purple.
Fantasia Barrino in Broadway's The Color Purple. Photo by Paul Kolnik

Barrino made her Broadway debut as Celie in The Color Purple in April 2007, and reprised her performance at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. earlier this summer. In addition to Chicago, Barrino will also appear in Purple in the following cities: Greensboro, NC (Sept. 8-13); Atlanta, GA (Sept. 15-27); and Los Angeles, CA (Feb. 10-28, 2010). The Chicago engagement concludes Sept. 6.

Fantasia Barrino won the "American Idol" competition in May 2004 and has gone on to release two solo albums, "Free Yourself" in 2004 and "Fantasia" in December 2006. She earned a Theatre World Award for her extended engagement in the Broadway production of The Color Purple.

As on Broadway, Gary Griffin directs the national tour of The Color Purple, which has a score by pop writers Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray and a book by Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman.

Following a world-premiere engagement at Atlanta's Alliance Theatre in 2004, The Color Purple was nominated for 11 2006 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, when it premiered on Broadway in November 2005.

The cast of The Color Purple national tour currently features Kenita R. Miller (Celie in cities not played by Barrino), Tony nominee Felicia P. Fields (Sofia), Angela Robinson (Shug Avery), Rufus Bonds, Jr. (Mister), Stu James (Harpo), LaToya London (Nettie), Tiffany Daniels (Squeak), as well as Lynette DuPree, Kimberly Ann Harris, Virginia Ann Woodruff, Adam Wade, Carol Dennis, Brian Harlan Brooks, Darius Crenshaw, Quentin Earl Darrington, Lesly Terrell Donald, Anika Ellis, Doug Eskew, André Garner, Stephanie Guiland-Brown, LaTrisa A. Harper, Phyre Hawkins, Dameka Hayes, LaTonya Holmes, Chauncey Jenkins, Grasan Kingsberry, Reva Rice, Horace V. Rogers, Kristopher Thompson-Bolden and Hollie E. Wright. Songs in the production include "Huckleberry Pie/Mysterious Ways," "Somebody Gonna Love You, "Our Prayer/I Really Want That Girl," "That Fine Mister," "Big Dog/Our Prayer (Reprise)," "Bring My Nettie Back," "Lily of the Field," "Dear God – Sofia," "A Tree Named Sofia," Hell No!," "Brown Betty," "Shug Avery Comin’ to Town," "Too Beautiful for Words," "Push Da Button," "Uh-Oh!," "What About Love?," "Africa," "The Color Purple," "A Church Ladies’ Easter," "With These Hands," "Miss Celie's Pants," "Is There Anything I Can Do for You?," "What About Love? (Reprise)," "I'm Here," "A Church Ladies' Fourth of July," "The Color Purple (Reprise)."

The design team comprises John Lee Beatty (sets), Paul Tazewell (costumes), Brian MacDevitt (lighting) and Jon Weston (sound).

For tickets phone (800) 745-3000, or visit

For further information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: