Clive Barnes Awards, Honoring Excellence in Theatre and Dance, Presented Jan. 6

News   Clive Barnes Awards, Honoring Excellence in Theatre and Dance, Presented Jan. 6
The Clive Barnes Awards are presented Jan. 6 at the Walter Reade Theatre at Lincoln Center.

Clive Barnes
Clive Barnes

Nominees for the theatre awards include Aaron Clifton Moten (The Flick), Jonny Orsini (The Nance), Phillipa Soo (Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812) and Amber Iman (Soul Doctor).

Talli Jackson, of the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company; Lloyd Mayor and Xiaochuan Xie, both of the Martha Graham Dance Company; and Calvin Royal III, of American Ballet Theater, are nominated for the dance award.

A panel of experts selects one winner from each field, and all finalists receive a cash prize. The winners in each category receive an award of $5,000 furnished by the Clive Barnes Foundation.

This year's Theater Award is presented by Susan Stroman, and this year's Dance Award is presented by Wendy Whelan.

Past presenters have included Frederic Franklin CBE, Cherry Jones, Nina Arianda (2010 Clive Barnes Award winner, 2012 Tony Award winner for Venus in Fur), Paloma Herrera and Maya Johansen Barnes.

Previous winners also include Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet), MJ Rodriquez (2011, Rent), Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theater), Rob McClure (2012, Chaplin) and Lauren Lovette (2012, New York City Ballet.)

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Awards includes Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Damian Woetzel and Craig Wright.

The Clive Barnes Foundation and awards are named for dance and theatre critic Clive Barnes, who died in 2008.

Today’s Most Popular News: