Coast of Utopia Is Big Winner in Outer Critics Circle Awards

News   Coast of Utopia Is Big Winner in Outer Critics Circle Awards
Winners of the 57th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced May 13. Top prizes went to The Coast of Utopia, Spring Awakening, Indian Blood and In the Heights.

Brian F. O'Byrne in The Coast of Utopia
Brian F. O'Byrne in The Coast of Utopia Photo by Paul Kolnick

Tom Stoppard's Coast of Utopia trilogy won six awards, the most of any show of the season. Among its honors are Outstanding New Broadway Play, Outstanding Director of a Play (Jack O'Brien), Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play (Martha Plimpton), Outstanding Lighting Design (Brian MacDevitt, Kenneth Posner and Natasha Katz), Outstanding Set Design (Bob Crowley and Scott Pask) and Outstanding Costume Design (Catherine Zuber).

Spring Awakening won the most of any musical of the season. Its prizes include Outstanding New Broadway Musical, Outstanding Director of a Musical (Michael Mayer) and Outstanding New Score (Steven Sater and Duncan Sheik).

Other multiple winners include the productions of Company, In the Heights, Journey's End, LoveMusik and No Child, which all won two prizes apiece.

Nominations for the 2006-2007 season were announced April 23 at the Algonquin Hotel. Mary Poppins led the nominations with 11 nods, including Outstanding New Broadway Musical.

The Outer Critics Circle Awards will be presented at a May 24 ceremony to be held at Sardi's Restaurant. The awards are decided upon by a group of writers "covering New York theatre for out-of town newspapers, national publications and other media beyond Broadway." The 2006-2007 Outer Critics Circle Award winners follow (winners names are in bold with an asterisk)


Outstanding New Broadway Play
*The Coast of Utopia
Coram Boy
Radio Golf

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
Mary Poppins
*Spring Awakening

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Exits and Entrances
*Indian Blood
The Pain and the Itch
The Scene

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
*In the Heights
Evil Dead: The Musical
Floyd and Clea: Under the Western Sky
Gutenberg! The Musical!

Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off Broadway)
In the Heights
Mary Poppins
*Spring Awakening

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Inherit the Wind
*Journey's End
Talk Radio
The Voysey Inheritance

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
The Apple Tree
A Chorus Line
110 in the Shade

Outstanding Director of a Play (Lucille Lortel Award)
Michael Grandage, Frost/Nixon
David Grindley, Journe's End
Melly Still, Coram Boy
*Jack O'Brien, The Coast of Utopia

Outstanding Director of a Musical
John Doyle, Company
Richard Eyre & Matthew Bourne, Mary Poppins
Thomas Kail, In the Heights
*Michael Mayer, Spring Awakening

Outstanding Choreography
Rob Ashford, Curtains
*Andy Blankenbuehler, In the Heights
Matthew Bourne & Stephen Mear, Mary Poppins
Carol Leavy Joyce & Graciela Daniele, The Pirate Queen

Outstanding Set Design
*Bob Crowley & Scott Pask, The Coast of Utopia
Bob Crowley, Mary Poppins
Ti Green & Melly Still, Coram Boy
Derek McLane, The Voysey Inheritance

Outstanding Costume Design
Bob Crowley, Mary Poppins
Judith Dolan, LoveMusik
Martin Pakledinaz, The Pirate Queen
*Catherine Zuber, The Coast of Utopia

Outstanding Lighting Design
Neil Austin, Frost/Nixon
Paule Constable, Coram Boy
Howard Harrison, Mary Poppins
*Brian MacDevitt/ Kenneth Posner/ Natasha Katz, The Coast of Utopia

Outstanding Actor in a Play
*Frank Langella, Frost/Nixon
Brían F. O'Byrne, The Coast of Utopia
Christopher Plummer, Inherit the Wind
Liev Schreiber, Talk Radio

Outstanding Actress in a Play
*Eve Best, A Moon for the Misbegotten
Jennifer Ehle, The Coast of Utopia
Carla Gugino, Suddenly Last Summer
Allison Pill, Blackbird

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Michael Cerveris, LoveMusik
*Raúl Esparza, Company
Gavin Lee, Mary Poppins
David Hyde Pierce, Curtains

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Ashley Brown, Mary Poppins
Kristin Chenoweth, The Apple Tree
Audra McDonald, 110 in the Shade
*Donna Murphy, LoveMusik

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Billy Crudup, The Coast of Utopia
*Boyd Gaines, Journey's End
David Greenspan, Some Men
Stephen Kunken, Frost/Nixon

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Robin Bartlett, Prelude to a Kiss
Jill Clayburgh, The Clean House
*Martha Plimpton, The Coast of Utopia
Lily Rabe, Heartbreak House

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Jason Danieley, Curtains
Daniel Jenkins, Mary Poppins
*David Pittu , LoveMusik
Bobby Steggert, 110 in the Shade

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Charlotte d'Amboise, A Chorus Line
Rebecca Luker, Mary Poppins
Orfeh, Legally Blonde
*Karen Ziemba, Curtains

Outstanding Solo Performance
Daniel Beatty, Emergence-See
Ed Harris, Wrecks
Jay Johnson, The Two and Only
*Nilaja Sun, No Child...

John Gassner Award
(Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright)
Daisy Foote, Bhutan
Bob Glaudini, Jack Goes Boating
Bruce Norris, The Pain and the Itch
*Nilaja Sun, No Child...

For more information visit


Though the show made itself ineligible for consideration for Outer Critics Circle honors, Deuce stars Angela Lansbury and Marian Seldes will be given Special Achievement Awards "in recognition of their outstanding and distinguished careers in the theatre" as recommended by the OCC Executive Committee. As previously reported, the Terrence McNally work pulled out of the OCC (as well as Drama Desk and Drama League) races.

Today’s Most Popular News: