Creative Team Announced for Broadway's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Starring Neil Patrick Harris

News   Creative Team Announced for Broadway's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Starring Neil Patrick Harris
The creative team has been announced for the Broadway premiere of John Cameron Mitchell and Steven Trask's landmark rock musical Hedwig and the Angry Inch, starring Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris.

Neil Patrick Harris
Neil Patrick Harris Photo by Aubrey Reuben

As previously reported, Hedwig will be directed by Tony Award winner Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening, American Idiot) with musical staging by Emmy Award nominee Spencer Liff (The Wedding Singer, Cry-Baby). It will begin previews March 29, 2014, at the Belasco Theatre, prior to an official opening April 22.

The Hedwig creative team includes scenic designer Julian Crouch, costume designer Arianne Phillips, lighting designer Kevin Adams, hair and makeup designer Mike Potter, sound designer Timothy O'Heir, musical supervisor Ethan Popp, vocal supervisor Liz Caplan and associate director Johanna McKeon.

Adams and Potter were both part of the original 1998 Off-Broadway creative team of Hedwig. Sound designer O'Heir and costume designer Phillips worked on the 2001 film adaptation.

Members of the Angry Inch will include Justin Craig (guitar and keyboards), Matt Duncan (bass), Tim Mislock (guitar) and Peter Yanowitz (drums).

Mitchell and Trask's landmark 1998 musical will star Harris as the titular Hedwig, a transgender singer fronting a fictional rock-n-roll band.  Harris has performed on Broadway in Assassins and in the New York Philharmonic production of Company. He has been honored with four Emmy Awards: three for his acclaimed hosting of the Tony Awards and another for his guest-starring role on "Glee." He also served as host and producer of the 61st and 65th Primetime Emmy Awards.

The dramatic musical comedy began Off Off-Broadway at Westbeth and then ran over two years at the Jane Street Theatre beginning in February 1998. Hedwig and the Angry Inch won the Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Off-Broadway Musical, and both John Cameron Mitchell and Stephen Trask won Obies. Hedwig and the Angry Inch won a 1998 New York Magazine Award and Entertainment Weekly's "Soundtrack of the Year" Award.

Hedwig and the Angry Inch is produced on Broadway by David Binder, Jayne Baron Sherman and Barbara Whitman. 101 Productions, Ltd are the executive producers.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: