Cruz, Leight, Wilson Among Finalists for Regional Steinberg New Play Award

News   Cruz, Leight, Wilson Among Finalists for Regional Steinberg New Play Award
Finalists for The Steinberg New Play Award have been announced. Among the playwrights are Nilo Cruz, Rolin Jones, Carson Kreitzer, Warren Leight, Lynn Nottage and August Wilson. The winner will be announced at the 2004 Humana Festival, April 3.

The American Theatre Critics Association has presented the annual Steinberg honor for "outstanding new plays produced around the United States, outside of New York City" placing a focus on regional works not often included in the numerous New York-based awards.

The prize includes the highest American playwriting cash award of $15,000. Two additional citation recipients are given cash prizes of $5,000 each. All prizes are funded by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.

The 2003 finalists are:

  • Gem of the Ocean by August Wilson,
    produced by Chicago's Goodman Theatre and the Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles
  • The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow by Rolin Jones,
    produced by South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa, California
  • Intimate Apparel by Lynn Nottage,
    produced by Baltimore's Center Stage and South Coast Repertory
  • James and Annie by Warren Leight,
    produced by Cincinnati's Ensemble Theatre
  • Lorca in a Green Dress by Nilo Cruz,
    produced by Oregon Shakespeare Festival
  • The Love Song of J. Robert Oppenheimer by Carson Kreitzer,
    produced by Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park


    For this year's award, 18 eligible scripts were submitted by ATCA members, representing over 250 regional media outlets. A committee of 13 professional theater critics reviewed and selected the finalists. Last year's winner of the Steinberg New Play Award was Nilo Cruz's Anna and the Tropics — who was announced as the Pulitzer Prize winner days later. The two other citations went to Craig Wright's Recent Tragic Events and Arthur Miller's Resurrection Blues. Other recent recipients of the honor include Horton Foote's The Carpetbaggers Children (2002), Jane Martin's Anton In Show Business (2001), Regina Taylor's Oo-Bla-Dee (2000) and Lanford Wilson's Book of Days (1999).

    For more information on the American Theatre Critics Association, visit

  • Today’s Most Popular News: