Dame Helen Mirren Named Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year

News   Dame Helen Mirren Named Hasty Pudding Woman of the Year
Tony-nominated and Academy Award-winning actress Dame Helen Mirren has been named Woman of the Year by Harvard's Hasty Pudding Theatricals.

Helen Mirren
Helen Mirren Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The celebration will be held Jan. 30: Mirren will lead a parade through the streets of Cambridge. Following the parade, which begins at 2:45 PM, the Hasty Pudding Theatricals will host a celebratory roast for the actress. At 4 PM Mirren will be presented with her Pudding Pot at Farkas Hall, the Hasty Pudding’s historic home in the heart of Harvard Square since 1888.

The festivities also will include Hasty Pudding cast members performing several musical numbers from the group’s production Victorian Secrets. Mirren will receive a tour of the new Hasty Pudding Clubhouse, which recently relocated to the historic Hyde-Taylor House in Harvard Square.

"How very saucy of the Hasty Pudding organisation to offer me their award," Mirren said in a statement. "As someone who adores Pudding in all its manifestations... Suet, Christmas, Treacle, Bread and Butter, Yorkshire, Plum, Figgy, etc., etc., I am so looking forward to the famous Hasty Pudding."

"It gives us great pleasure to bestow Ms. Mirren with our prestigious Woman of the Year Award recognizing her significant contributions to entertainment," Tony Oblen, president of the Hasty Pudding Theatricals, said in a statement. "We look forward to welcoming Ms. Mirren and celebrating and honoring her achievements in a truly unique and memorable way."

Two-time Tony nominee Mirren's Broadway credits include A Month in the Country and Dance of Death. The Olivier Award winner has also performed in Mourning Becomes Electra, Phèdre and The Audience. Her film work includes "Hitchcock," "Red," "The Tempest" and "The Queen." Established in 1951, the Woman of the Year Award is the Hasty Pudding Theatricals oldest honor, "bestowed annually on performers who have made lasting and impressive contributions to the world of entertainment." 

Previous recipients include Bernadette Peters, Meryl Streep, Katharine Hepburn, Julia Roberts, Jodie Foster, Elizabeth Taylor, Anne Hathaway, Claire Danes and Marion Cotillard.

The Man of the Year Award will be announced at a later date, and the recipient will be honored Feb. 7. 

Visit hastypudding.org for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: