Danai Gurira Among Lilly Award Honorees

News   Danai Gurira Among Lilly Award Honorees
The Eclipsed playwright will be honored at this year’s Lilly Awards, celebrating women of distinction in American theatre.
Danai Gurira Joseph Marzullo/WENN
Martha Plimpton
Martha Plimpton

The seventh annual Lilly Awards will honor Eclipsed playwright Danai Gurira along with actor Martha Plimpton, director Kate Whoriskey and actor Mia Katigbak May 23. The event celebrates women of distinction in American theatre.

The ceremony will take place at the Signature Theatre, with more honorees to be announced at a later date. The Lilly Awards will also announce the recipient of the $25,000 Stacey Mindich Prize, which funds a new work by a female playwright, and the Leah Ryan Prize, which awards an annual cash prize to an emerging woman playwright and produces a reading of the winning play in New York City.

The Lillys were founded by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman and Theresa Rebeck, and were named after playwright Lillian Hellman.

Previous winners include Mary Rodgers, Dominique Morisseau, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Jeanine Tesori, Liesl Tommy, Kelli O’Hara, Pam MacKinnon, Leigh Silverman, Anne Kauffman, Sarah Ruhl, Kristin Chenoweth, Annie Baker, Susan Stroman, Lynn Ahrens, Tina Fallon, Amy Herzog, Nina Arianda, Diane Paulus, Katori Hall, Tina Howe, Estelle Parsons, Lynne Meadow, Ntozake Shange, Jessica Hecht and Lois Smith.

To reserve tickets, click here.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: