Danny Burstein to Host 10th Annual Broadway Salutes | Playbill

Industry News Danny Burstein to Host 10th Annual Broadway Salutes The annual event recognizes the many unseen artists, craftsmen, and theatrical business people whose dedication to Broadway has helped the show go on for decades.
Danny Burstein Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Fiddler on the Roof and Follies Tony Award nominee Danny Burstein will host the 10th annual Broadway Salutes November 13 at 3:30 PM at Sardi’s Restaurant. The industry-wide event celebrates veteran Broadway union and guild members, who have dedicated the past 25 to 50-plus years of their careers in service to the theatre community. Broadway Salutes will begin at 3:30 PM.

Marc Bruni will direct the event honoring actors, agents, attorneys, box-office treasurers, casting directors, choreographers, composers, designers, directors, dressers, managers, musicians, orchestrators, producers, publicists, stagehands, stage managers, stylists, theatre owners, ticket sellers, ushers, writers, and more.

“It’s remarkable to think that the newest among this year’s inductees made their Broadway debuts in 1993 and have forged careers of 25 years and more,” said Thomas Schumacher, chairman of the Broadway League. “Broadway Salutes is our chance to celebrate these extraordinary Broadway vets who make vivid and vital Broadway theatre year in and year out.”

“Each year over 89,000 craftsmen and women, artists, professionals, and a myriad of other who are never seen by the audience, make Broadway work. Our goal ten years ago, when we began Broadway Salutes, was to recognize and thank our colleagues for their tremendous talent, tireless work, and their commitment over many years to the industry that makes New York truly distinctive,” added Laura Penn, SDC executive director, on behalf of COBUG.

Broadway supports thousands of jobs and generates $575 million in taxes to NYC. During the 2016-2017 season, Broadway as an industry contributed $12.63 billion to the economy of New York City, which includes both direct and indirect spending.

This year’s Broadway Salutes committee is comprised of Laura Penn (SDC), Hal Goldberg (Jujamcyn), Chris Brockmeyer (Broadway League), Mary McColl (AEA), Deborah Murad (Dramatist Guild), Lawrence Paone (IATSE), Paige Price (Member, AEA/SDC), Danielle Saks (Bespoke Theatricals), Mark Schweppe (Shubert), and Patricia White (TWU Local 764, IATSE).

Since the first ceremony in 2008, Broadway Salutes has honored more than 5,000 members of the theatre community.

See David Hyde Pierce Host Salute to Broadway’s Long-Timers November 7

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!