Daryl Roth and Wendy Wasserstein Among Honorees in 2004 Jewish Cultural Awards June 7 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Daryl Roth and Wendy Wasserstein Among Honorees in 2004 Jewish Cultural Awards June 7 Producer Daryl Roth and playwright Wendy Wasserstein will be honored by The National Foundation for Jewish Culture (NFJC) at its 15th annual Jewish Cultural Achievement Awards (JCAA) June 7.
Daryl Roth
Daryl Roth

Roth (Proof, Wit, How I Learned to Drive) will receive the Patron of the Arts Award for her contributions and dedication to the arts. The three artistic honorees, "whose work has contributed both to the American cultural mainstream and to a contemporary Jewish cultural identity in America," include Wendy Wasserstein (The Sisters Rosensweig, The Heidi Chronicles) for Performing Arts, Anne Roiphe for Literary Arts and Tobi Kahn for Visual Arts. Richard Siegel, Executive Director of the NFJC, will be honored with the Cultural Leadership Award for 25 years with NFJC.

Judith Light (TV's "Who's the Boss," "One Life to Live," Wit) will emcee the event at the Plaza Hotel.

"All of the honorees are truly notable in their respective fields and the recipients have made art and culture arising from a Jewish sensibility more accessible to audiences throughout the country," according to the announcement.

Playwright Tony Kushner (Angels in America; Caroline, or Change) will be presenting the award to Daryl Roth; Paul LeClerc (president and CEO of New York Public Library) will be presenting to Tobi Kahn; Anne Roiphe will receive her award from Katie Roiphe (author); Wasserstein will receive her award from actress Swoosie Kurtz (Frozen).

The Jewish Cultural Achievement Awards are billed as "the American Jewish community's foremost recognition of artistic achievement."

To purchase tickets for the event, or to make a contribution to the National Foundation for Jewish Culture, please call (212) 629-0500 or visit www.jewishculture.org.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!