Date Set for 10th Annual ‘Mimi’ Awards, Honoring Gifted Playwrights

Awards   Date Set for 10th Annual ‘Mimi’ Awards, Honoring Gifted Playwrights
The Advisory Committee, which selects the recipients, has also been announced.
2016 Steinberg Award recipient Sarah Ruhl
2016 Steinberg Award recipient Sarah Ruhl Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust announced that the 10th Annual “Mimi” Awards, presented annually to honor the work of gifted American playwrights, will be held December 4 at Lincoln Center Theater.

The Steinberg Playwright Awards celebrate two playwrights in early and middle stages of their careers; each recipient will receive a cash award of $50,000. This year’s honorees will be announced in September.

The Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award and Steinberg Playwright Awards are presented in alternate years. Past recipients include the following:
· Sarah Ruhl, Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, 2016
· Branden Jacobs-Jenkins and Dominique Morisseau, Steinberg Playwright Awards, 2015
· Stephen Adly Guirgis, Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, 2014
· Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph, Steinberg Playwright Awards, 2013
· David Henry Hwang, Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, 2012
· Lisa D’Amour and Melissa James Gibson, Steinberg Playwright Awards, 2011
· Lynn Nottage, Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, 2010
· David Adjmi, Tarell Alvin McCraney and Bruce Norris, Steinberg Playwright Awards, 2009
· Tony Kushner, Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, 2008

Along with a monetary award, playwrights receive “The Mimi,” a statuette designed by David Rockwell, the Tony-winning scenic designer and architect.

The 2017 Advisory Committee, which nominates individual candidates and selects each recipient, comprises Paige Evans, Artistic Director, Signature Theatre Company; Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director, Manhattan Theatre Club; Carole Rothman, Artistic Director, Second Stage Theatre; Molly Smith, Artistic Director, Arena Stage; Kent Thompson, Theatre Director, Producer & Author; Les Waters, Artistic Director, Actors Theatre of Louisville; and Chay Yew, Artistic Director, Victory Gardens Theater.

The Board of Directors of The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust is made up of Carole A. Krumland, James D. Steinberg, Michael A. Steinberg, Seth M. Weingarten, and William D. Zabel.

Check out photos from last year's awards:


Watch an earlier interview with 2008 Steinberg winner Tony Kushner below:

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: