Derek Klena and Caitlin Kinnunen Join Cast of The Bridges of Madison County on Broadway

News   Derek Klena and Caitlin Kinnunen Join Cast of The Bridges of Madison County on Broadway
Derek Klena and Caitlin Kinnunen will join Kelli O'Hara, Steven Pasquale and Hunter Foster in the Broadway cast of the new Jason Robert Brown musical The Bridges of Madison County.

Derek Klena
Derek Klena

Klena (Wicked) and Kinnunen (Spring Awakening) will play teenagers Michael and Carolyn Johnson, respectively. Kinnunen created the role during the premiere of Bridges of Madison County last summer at the Williamstown Theatre Festival. 

Tony Award nominees Foster (Hands on a Hardbody, Urinetown, Little Shop of Horrors) and four-time Tony nominee O'Hara (The Light in the Piazza, South Pacific, Nice Work If You Can Get It) were previously announced to play their parents, Bud and Francesca, respectively.

Pasquale (Reasons to Be Pretty, Far From Heaven, "Rescue Me") will play photographer Robert Kincaid. Cass Morgan and Michael X. Martin will play the roles of Marge and Charlie, the nosy neighbor and her husband to the Johnson family.

Tony Award-winning director Bartlett Sher (Golden Boy, South Pacific, The Light in the Piazza) helms the musical — based on the 1992 Robert James Waller novel — which has a score by Tony winner Jason Robert Brown (Parade, Songs for a New World) and a book by Tony and Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman (The Secret Garden, 'Night Mother).

The Bridges of Madison County will begin previews Jan. 17, 2014, toward a Feb. 20 opening night at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre. The romantic musical centers on a brief, four-day love affair between a National Geographic photographer and an Italian-American housewife in 1965 Iowa. Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep starred in the 1995 film adaptation.

The creative team includes Michael Yeargan (scenic design), Donald Holder (lighting design), Catherine Zuber (costume design), Jon Weston (sound design), Deborah Hecht (dialect coach) and Thomas Murray (music director).

The musical is produced by Jeffrey Richards, Stacey Mindich, and Jerry Frankel. They will be joined by Gutterman Chernoff, Hunter Arnold, Ken Davenport, Carl Daikeler, Scott M. Delman, Aaron Priest, Red Mountain Theatre Company, Independent Presenters Network, Libby Adler Mages/Mari Stuart, Caiola Productions, Remmel Dickinson, David Lancaster, Bellanca Smigel Rutter, Mark S. Golub & David S. Golub, Will Trice, with Warner Bros Theatre Ventures and The Shubert Organization.

Tickets are now on sale via

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: