Dolly Parton Among Country Stars Joining Michael Feinstein on Country-Inspired Gershwin Album | Playbill

Playbill Universe Dolly Parton Among Country Stars Joining Michael Feinstein on Country-Inspired Gershwin Album

Liza Minnelli produces the recording that also features Alison Krauss, Brad Paisley, and Rosanne Cash.

Dolly Parton and Michael Feinstein

Gershwin Country, a new album from Grammy nominee Michael Feinstein that reimagines the songs of George and Ira Gershwin through the lens of country music, will arrive March 11 from Craft Recordings. 

Executive-produced by EGOT winner Liza Minnelli, the recording pairs Feinstein with several country music stars, including Tony nominee Dolly Parton, Alison Krauss, Brad Paisley, and Rosanne Cash. Stage and screen star Minnelli also lends her voice to the Gershwin standard "Embraceable You."

“Someone to Watch Over Me,” featuring Grammy winner Krauss, can currently be heard by clicking here.

The Gershwin Country track list follows:

1. "Love Is Here to Stay" featuring Dolly Parton
2. "I’ve Got a Crush on You" featuring Rosanne Cash
3. "Someone to Watch Over Me" featuring Alison Krauss
4. "I Got Rhythm" featuring Brad Paisley
5. "They Can’t Take That Away From Me" featuring Amy Grant
6. "Clap Yo’ Hands" featuring Lyle Lovett
7. "How Long Has This Been Going On?" featuring Mandy Barnett
8. "Fascinating Rhythm" featuring The Time Jumpers with Vince Gill
9. "Soon" featuring Lee Ann Womack
10. "Oh, Lady Be Good!" featuring Ronnie Milsap
11. "Embraceable You" featuring Liza Minnelli

Reflecting on Gershwin Country, Feinstein says, “Every single [artist] was an inspiration with the caring, dedication, and wisdom they instilled in these songs. Some titles were new to them, and that brought a gift of freshness to the proceedings.” Making the album, he adds, “was one of the happiest experiences of my life. Music is truly the universal language, and we all felt such a part of each other through the process.”

The recording is currently available for pre-order. A portion of all proceeds benefits MusiCares, a partner of the Recording Academy that provides a support system of health and human services to the music community.

Playbill Universe

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!