Drama Desk Awards Set June Ceremony Date

News   Drama Desk Awards Set June Ceremony Date
The 61st Annual Drama Desk Awards, honoring the best of Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off Off-Broadway, will be presented June 5 at The Town Hall.

Nominations for this year's Drama Desks will be announced April 28 at Feinstein's/54 Below at 10 AM.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to "explore key issues in the theater and bring together critics, writers, editors, and publishers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theatre in New York." The organization began presenting its awards in 1955.

"For almost 61 years, the Drama Desk has been honoring professional achievement at all levels of New York theatre," Charles Wright, Drama Desk President, said in a statement. "Every spring, the Drama Desk Awards ceremony offers an occasion to celebrate outstanding work in what is unquestionably the most vibrant theatre community in our country and perhaps the world."

Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show. The Awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (co-founder and artistic director of Transport Group).

The 2015-2016 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of: David Barbour, Chair (Lighting & Sound America); Peter Filichia (Broadway Select, author, most recently, of "The Great Parade: The Remarkable 1963-64 Broadway Season"); David Finkle (Blogger, Huffington Post; Clyde Fitch Report); Sandy MacDonald (Time Out New York, TheaterNewsOnline.com); Andy Propst (AmericanTheaterWeb.com, author, "You Fascinate Me So: The Life & Times of Cy Coleman"); Diane Snyder (Cititour.com, Time Out New York); Douglas Strassler (Garden State Journal); Charles Wright (President, Drama Desk), ex officio. Gretchen Shugart is managing executive producer of the Drama Desk Awards, and Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone, in association with Renee McCurry, are executive producers.

Visit Dramadeskawards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: