Dramatists Guild Fund Names 2016-17 DG Fellows

News   Dramatists Guild Fund Names 2016-17 DG Fellows
Five playwrights and five musical theatre writers have been selected from over 250 applicants.
Patricia Ione Lloyd
Patricia Ione Lloyd

The Dramatists Guild Fund has announced its 2016-17 class of DG fellows, made up of five playwrights and five musical theatre writers. They are James Christy, Khiyon Hursey, Patricia Ione Lloyd, Michael R. Jackson, C.A. Johnson, David Mallamud, Zoey Martinson, Madeline Myers, Nicole Pandolfo and Len Schiff.

On September 19 the DG Fund presented an evening of new works by the 2015-16 graduating fellows at Playwrights Horizons, hosted by the program’s co-founders, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty. That same night, playwright Chisa Hutchinson, an alumna of the Fellows program, was presented with the Thom Thomas Award and a $10,000 prize.

The DG Fellows program is a nine-month intensive designed to train and nurture the next generation of American playwrights and musical theatre writers. Fellows meet with industry professionals twice a month for feedback on their works in progress and receive one-on-one mentoring.

Former fellows include Oscar winner Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Pulitzer Prize finalist Rajiv Joseph, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen), ATCA Steinberg Award winner Deborah Zoe Laufer (End Days), Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award winner Masi Asare, and Fred Ebb and Richard Rodgers Award winner Adam Gwon.

For more information on the Fellows Program, visit dgfund.org/programs/#fellows.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: