Dramatists Guild Honors Stein, Letts, Miranda, Lucas Nov. 18; Harnick and Irving Perform | Playbill

Related Articles
News Dramatists Guild Honors Stein, Letts, Miranda, Lucas Nov. 18; Harnick and Irving Perform The 2008 Dramatists Guild Awards Celebration, presented by the Dramatists Guild Fund, will be held Nov. 18 at The Players in Manhattan.
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Lin-Manuel Miranda Photo by Josh Lehrer

Christopher Durang hosts the evening, which begins at 7 PM with wine and hors d'oeuvres, followed by the awards presentation and entertainment at 8 PM.

The 2008 Awards will be presented to the following:

  • Joseph Stein will be awarded the Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented "in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatrical writing."
  • August: Osage County playwright Tracy Letts will be awarded the Hull-Warriner Award, which is presented to an author or team of authors "in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious or social mores of the times."


  • In the Heights co-creator and star Lin-Manuel Miranda will be awarded the Frederick Loewe Award, which is presented to a composer and recognizes "achievement in a theatrical score presented on Broadway in the previous theatrical season."
  • Craig Lucas will be awarded the Flora Roberts Award, which is presented to a theatre professional in "recognition of distinguished work in the theater and to encourage the continuation of that work."
  • Laura Jacqmin will be awarded the Wasserstein Prize, which is presented to a young female writer "who has yet to achieve national recognition."
  • Rita and Burton Goldberg will be awarded The Kitty Carlisle Hart Award, a new award presented "in honor of Kitty Carlisle Hart to recognize outstanding philanthropy in the education and support of writers for the theater." Entertainment will be provided by Sheldon Harnick (singing The Body Beautiful's "Blonde Blues") and George S. Irving (singing Enter Laughing's "He's Screwing Dolores Del Rio"), who will both honor award winner Stein.

    The Players is located in Manhattan at 16 Gramercy Park. Tickets, priced $75, are available by calling (212) 864-7827.


    The Dramatists Guild of America, Inc. represents the interests of more than 6,000 member playwrights and theatrical composers and lyricists in the United States. The Dramatists Guild Fund is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is "to aid and nurture writers for the theater; to fund non-profit theaters producing contemporary American works; and to heighten awareness, appreciation, and support of theater across the country."

    Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!