Dramatists Guild of America Awards, Honoring John Guare, Christopher Durang and More, Held Feb. 24 | Playbill

News Dramatists Guild of America Awards, Honoring John Guare, Christopher Durang and More, Held Feb. 24 The Dramatists Guild of America presents its annual awards Feb. 24 at The Lambs Club in New York.

John Guare Photo by Kevin Thomas Garcia

The event is hosted by Tony Award winner Robert Lopez (The Book of Mormon, Avenue Q) and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, who, together, penned the Oscar-nominated score to the movie "Frozen." 

The Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition, recognizing achievement in a theatrical score, goes to Tony Award nominees Trey Anastasio and Amanda Green for the score of Hands on a Hardbody.

The Flora Roberts Award, presented to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theatre and to encourage the continuation of that work, is given to Tony Award nominee Arthur Kopit (Nine, High Society).

The Lanford Wilson Award goes to Mike Lew (Bike America, Tiger Style!). The award was established by the estate of Wilson and is presented by the Dramatists Guild Council to a dramatist based primarily on his or her work as an early-career playwright.

Tony Award winner Christopher Durang (Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike) receives the Hull-Warriner Award, which is given in recognition of a playwright's work addressing controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious or social mores of the times. The Madge Evans & Sidney Kingsley Awards, which celebrate excellence in the theatre, are given, respectively, to a stage actress and a playwright who are in mid-career. This year's recipients are Tony Award nominee Lisa Kron (Well) and two-time Tony Award winner Viola Davis (Fences, King Hedley II).

Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to Tony Award winner John Guare (Two Gentlemen of Verona, Sweet Smell of Success).

Additionally, the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund presents the first DLDF Defender Award to Larissa Mark, a high school senior from Trumbull, CT. Mark successfully organized her community in opposition to her school's sudden cancellation of its production of Rent, which resulted in the production's reinstatement. This new award honors Mark's work in support of free expression in the dramatic arts.

Tickets and more information are available by calling (212) 398-9366, ext. 20 or e-mailing [email protected].

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!