Ebersole Hosts Touring Broadway Awards April 16

News   Ebersole Hosts Touring Broadway Awards April 16
Christine Ebersole, the acclaimed star of Broadway's Grey Gardens, hosts the Touring Broadway Awards April 16 at 6 PM at the Crowne Plaza Times Square.
Christine Ebersole
Christine Ebersole Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Ebersole will also help present the awards, along with Michael Mayer, the director of Broadway's Spring Awakening, and the veteran lighting designer Natasha Katz. The ceremony kicks off the League of American Theatres and Producers' 2007 Spring Road Conference, which runs through April 19.

The Touring Broadway Awards, which the League established in 2000, are the first national awards to recognize touring Broadway shows. League presenters representing over 240 markets select the recipients.

The 2007 categories include Best New Musical, Best Play, Best Production Design, Best Musical Score, Best Direction, Best Choreography, Best Long-Running Musical (for shows that have been on the road for over three years) and Touring Broadway Achievement Award ("recognizing a performer, individual or organization that has shown exceptional dedication to Touring Broadway").

Last year, Wicked won Best New Musical and Golda's Balcony won Best Play.

A new addition this year is the Touring Broadway People's Choice Award. Fans who are members of the League's Broadway Fan Club can vote for their favorite touring show at www.BroadwayFanClub.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: