Elaine Stritch, Brian Stokes Mitchell and Eartha Kitt to Perform at Nightlife Awards

News   Elaine Stritch, Brian Stokes Mitchell and Eartha Kitt to Perform at Nightlife Awards
The 2006 Nightlife Awards, which celebrates talent in New York City nightclubs, will have an impressive line-up of performers.

Already set to entertain the Town Hall audience on Feb. 6 are Elaine Stritch, Brian Stokes Mitchell and Eartha Kitt as well as Nightlife Award winners Freddy Cole, Sandy Stewart, Bill Charlap, Karen Mason, Kristen Schall, Jason Graae and Tom Andersen. Celebrity presenters will include Karen Ziemba, Marin Mazzie, Michael Cerveris, Charles Busch, John Patrick Shanley, William Finn, Judy Gold, Cheryl Benteyne, David Zippel and Lee Roy Reams. Show time is 8 PM. The 2006 Nightlife Awards winners and finalists follow:
Outstanding Cabaret Female Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Elaine Stritch
(Finalists: Chita Rivera and Rebecca Luker)
Outstanding Cabaret Male Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Brian Stokes Mitchell
(Finalists: Jack Jones and Michael Feinstein)
Outstanding Duo/Group Cabaret Performance in a Major Engagement: Sandy Stewart & Bill Charlap
(Finalists: John Pizzarelli/Bucky Pizzarelli and Jimmy Webb/Glen Campbell)
Outstanding Cabaret Female Vocalist: Karen Mason
(Finalists: Lumirie Tubo and Ludmilla Ilieva)
Outstanding Cabaret Male Vocalist: Tom Andersen
(Finalists: Colm Reilly and Miles Phillips)
Outstanding Cabaret Musical Comedy/Characterization Performance: Jason Graae
(Finalists: BJ Ward and Jimmy James)
Outstanding Cabaret Revue/Group/Variety Performance: A Little Traveling Music
(Finalists: The Fabulous Pink Flamingoes and The Farley Brothers)
Outstanding Cabaret Piano Bar Performance: A.J. Irvin
(Finalists: Elaine Brier and David Colbert)
Unique Cabaret Performance: Kabarett Kollectif
Outstanding Female Standup Comedian: Kristen Schaali
(Finalists: Judy Gold and Heather Lawless)
Outstanding Male Standup Comedian: Bill Burr
(Finalists: Greg Giraldo and Demetri Martin)
Outstanding Comedy Performance: tie—Creative Nation and TJ & Dave
(Finalist: Andres du Bouchet)
Outstanding Jazz Soloist: Hank Jones
(Finalists: Bill Charlap and Eric Alexander)
Outstanding Jazz Combo Performance: Harry Allen and Joe Cohn Quartet
(Finalists: Lee Konitz Nonet and Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra with Arturo O’Farrill)
Outstanding Female Jazz Vocalist: Paula West
(Finalists: Annie Ross and Sheila Jordan)
Outstanding Male Jazz Vocalist: Freddy Cole
(Finalists: John Pizzarelli and Allan Harris)

Veteran stage and screen star Eartha Kitt will receive the Nightlife Legend Award.

Tickets for the Nightlife Awards — priced $25, $50 and $75 — are available by calling Ticketmaster at (212) 307-4100 or by visiting www.ticketmaster.com. Limited tickets to the after-party (an additional $50) are available by contacting siegelentertainment@msn.com or by calling (212) 365-4345. Town Hall is located in Manhattan at 123 West 43rd Street.

Today’s Most Popular News: