Eli Wallach, Francis Ford Coppola, Jean-Luc Goddard to Receive Honorary Oscars

News   Eli Wallach, Francis Ford Coppola, Jean-Luc Goddard to Receive Honorary Oscars
Tony and Emmy Award-winning actor Eli Wallach, Academy Award-winning director Francis Ford Coppola, French film director Jean-Luc Goddard and film historian and preservationist Kevin Brownlow will receive the Governor's Awards from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Nov. 13.

Wallach, a Tony winner for The Rose Tattoo and an Emmy winner for "The Poppy Is Also a Flower," has been acting on stage and screen for more than 60 years. He will receive an honorary award for his film work, which includes "The Ghost Writer," "New York, I Love You," "The Godfather Part III" (directed by Coppola), "Nuts," "Cinderella Liberty," "The Good, The Bad and the Ugly," "The Misfits," "The Magnificent Seven" and "Baby Doll." Stage credits include The Lady from the Sea, Camino Real, The Teahouse of the August Moon, Rhinoceros, Luv, The Waltz of the Toreadors, Café Crown and The Flowering Peach, among many others. Coppola will receive the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award for his direction of such classic films as "The Godfather" trilogy, "Apocalypse Now," "The Conversation," "Peggy Sue Got Married," "The Outsiders" and "Finian's Rainbow."

Godard will be recognized with an honorary award for his body of work, from his groundbreaking "Breathless" and "Band of Outsiders" to his latest film, "Film Socialisme," which will be screened at the Toronto Film Festival in September.

Brownlow's work as a film historian and preservationist on films including Abel Gance's "Napoleon" (1927), Rex Ingram's "The Four Horseman of the Apocalypse" (1921) and "The Thief of Baghdad" (1924, starring Douglas Fairbanks), will also take an honorary award at the ceremony.

Today’s Most Popular News: