Esparza, Hibbert, Conlee and Blumenkrantz Join Cast of Encores! Anyone Can Whistle

News   Esparza, Hibbert, Conlee and Blumenkrantz Join Cast of Encores! Anyone Can Whistle
Raúl Esparza, Edward Hibbert, John Ellison Conlee and Jeff Blumenkrantz will join the previously announced Tony Award winners Donna Murphy and Sutton Foster in the City Center Encores! production of Anyone Can Whistle.

Raul Esparza
Raul Esparza

The Stephen Sondheim-Arthur Laurents musical will play the famed New York venue April 8-11. Murphy will play Mayor Cora Hoover Hooper (the role created by Angela Lansbury) with Foster as Fay Apple (the role originated by the late Lee Remick).

Esparza (Tony nominee for Speed-the-Plow, The Homecoming, Company, Taboo) will be J. Bowden Hapgood, Hibbert (Curtains, The Drowsy Chaperone, Noises Off) will take on the role of Comptroller Schub, Conlee (The Full Monty, The Constant Wife) will portray Police Chief Magruder, and Blumenkrantz (A Class Act, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Damn Yankees) will be Treasurer Cooley.

The newly announced ensemble comprises Clyde Alves, Tanya Birl, Holly Ann Butler, J. Austin Eyer, Sara Ford, Lisa Gajda, Stephanie Gibson, Linda Griffin, Karen Hyland, Natalie King, Grasan Kingsberry, Max Kumangai, Michael Marcotte, Joseph Medeiros, Denny Paschall, Monica L. Patton, Steve Schepis, Eric Sciotto, Tally Sessions, Brian Shepard, Dana Steingold, Brandon Tyler, Anthony Wayne and Patrick Wetzel.

The Drowsy Chaperone's Casey Nicholaw will direct and choreograph the production with musical direction by Rob Berman.

The limited run will also feature sets by John Lee Beatty, lighting by Ken Billington, costumes by Gregg Barnes and sound by Leon Rothenberg. With a score by Stephen Sondheim and a book by Arthur Laurents, Anyone Can Whistle opened at the Majestic Theatre April 4, 1964, with a cast led by multi-Tony Award winner Angela Lansbury, Lee Remick, Harry Guardino, Gabriel Dell, Arnold Soboloff, James Frawley, Peg Murray, Don Doherty, Sterling Clark, Harvey Evans, Larry Roquemore and Tucker Smith. Although the musical played but 21 performances, the Sondheim score contained several thrilling songs: "Me and My Town," "There Won't Be Trumpets," "Anyone Can Whistle," "Everybody Says Don't" and "With So Little To Be Sure Of."

For tickets call (212) 581-1212 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: