EST Announces Complete Marathon Line-Up; Run Begins May 11 | Playbill

Related Articles
News EST Announces Complete Marathon Line-Up; Run Begins May 11 The Ensemble Studio Theater has announced the complete line-up for its 26th annual one-act marathon. Added to the already-announced John Guare, Tina Howe, Romulus Linney and Susan Kim will be plays by Billy Aronson (Light Years), Deborah Grimberg, Garry Williams, Lynn Rosen, Amy Staats and Leslie Ayvazian (Nine Armenians).

Among the directors are EST associates Jamie Richards and Tom Rowan, along with Will Pomerantz and Julie Boyd.

The schedule runs as follows:

Series A
May 11–29
Of Two Minds by Billy Aronson, directed by Jamie Richards
The Honeymakers by Deborah Grimberg, directed by Tom Rowan
Coda by Romulus Linney, directed by Julie Boyd
A Blooming of Ivy by Garry Williams, directed by Richmond Hoxie

Series B
June 1–21
Woman at a Threshold, Beckoning by John Guare, directed by Will Pomerantz
Washed Up on the Potomac by Lynn Rosen, directed by Eileen Myers
The Changing of the Guard by Amy Staats, directed by Mark Roberts
Water Music by Tina Howe, directed by Pam Mackinnon
Hi There, Mr. Machine by Leslie Ayvazian

Playwrights who have participated in past marathons include Christopher Durang, Herb Gardner, Frank Gilroy, Richard Greenberg, David Ives, Michael John LaChiusa, Craig Lucas, David Mamet, Steve Martin, Arthur Miller, Marsha Norman, Joyce Carol Oates, Paul Rudnick, John Patrick Shanley, Shel Silverstein, Wendy Wasserstein and Tennessee Williams. In past years, the Marathon consisted of three separate evenings of four plays.

For more information on the Marathon at E.S.T., 549 West 52nd Street, call (212) 247 4982 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!