Etan Frankel Wins Williamstown's Weissberger Award | Playbill

News Etan Frankel Wins Williamstown's Weissberger Award
The playwright Etan Frankel has won Williamstown Theatre Festival's 2006 Weissberger Playwriting Award for his script Truth and Reconciliation.

The prize, given annually since 1988 to an unpublished, unproduced play, comes with $10,000, publication of the script by Samuel French and a reading at the WTF in 2007.

WTF produced Frankel's play Create Fate in 2005. His play The Fearless went up at the 2006 Summer Play Festival in New York.

Truth and Reconciliation, which was selected out of 300 plays nominated by theatre professionals, is about a young doctor who disappears while helping to treat the poor in a fictional Central American country.

The other finalists for this year’s award were 1001 by Jason Grote, Amazons and Their Men by Jordan Harrison, After a Hundred Years by Naomi Iizuka and These Shining Lives by Melanie Marnich.

Past winners include Benjie Arensen, Neena Beber, Paula Blue Spruce, Deborah Bailey Brevoort, Michael Chepiga, Julia Cho, Constance Congdon, Elizabeth Egloff, Mary Gail, Sherry Kramer, Carter L. Lewis, Kenneth Lin, Victor Lodato, Doug Post, Catherine Treischmann, Ken Weitzman and Mac Wellman. For more information visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!