Evans, Cahoon, Grove, Racey and Boras to Perform at Theatre Museum Awards

News   Evans, Cahoon, Grove, Racey and Boras to Perform at Theatre Museum Awards
Richard M. and Robert B. Sherman, the prolific songwriting brothers whose work has taken them from Disney to Broadway to London, will be honored with the Career Achievement Award at the 2010 Theatre Museum Awards for Excellence, which will be held May 17 at the Players Club.

Jessica Grov
Jessica Grov

The evening will feature Sherman Brothers songs performed by Jennifer Evans, Kevin Cahoon, Jessica Grove, Noah Racey and Annika Boras. Richard M. Sherman will lead the event's grand finale; Richard Kind hosts.

Producer Stewart F. Lane, chairman of the Theatre Museum, stated, "It's going to be an evening filled with the songs of one of the greatest composing teams in the history of American music. We're thrilled to be able to honor a duo that has contributed so much to the American musical. We look forward to their work being heard on Broadway for many years to come."

The Theatre Museum will also honor Samuel French, Inc. with its Theatre Arts Education Award, and the Mint Theater Company will be presented the Museum's Theatre History Preservation Award. Putting the gala together is Tony, Oscar, Emmy and Drama Desk Award winner Tony Walton.

The Theatre Museum Awards will be presented by Thomas Schumacher, president and producer of Disney Theatrical Productions; Tappan Wilder, the executor of Thornton Wilder's dramatic and literary estate; and actor George Morfogen.

The Sherman Brothers' stage credits include Mary Poppins, an adaptation of the beloved Disney film (they received Oscars for the film's score and its song "Chim-Chim Chiree"); Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, also adapted from a popular film which they had scored; Over Here!; and Busker Alley. Additional Disney film credits include "The Jungle Book," "The Parent Trap," "The Aristocats," "Bedknobs and Broomsticks," "The Happiest Millionaire," and the "Winnie the Pooh" series, as well as the classic song "It's a Small World" for the Disneyland theme park. Additional film credits include "The Slipper and the Rose," "Tom Sawyer," "Charlotte's Web" and "Beverly Hills Cop 3." They began their careers as pop tunesmiths, writing such hits as "You're Sixteen" and "Tall Paul." They have received nine Oscar nominations, three Grammys, 24 gold and platinum albums, the National Medal of Arts, and an induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. For more information about the Theatre Museum and the awards ceremony, visit theatremuseum.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: