EXCLUSIVE: Betty Buckley, Sam Waterston, Trevor Nunn, Christopher Durang, Andre Bishop Among Theater Hall of Fame Inductees | Playbill

Related Articles
News EXCLUSIVE: Betty Buckley, Sam Waterston, Trevor Nunn, Christopher Durang, Andre Bishop Among Theater Hall of Fame Inductees Playbill.com has learned that the 2012 Theater Hall of Fame inductees will include actors Betty Buckley and Sam Waterston, directors Trevor Nunn and Michael Kahn, producer/director Andre Bishop, playwrights Paula Vogel and Christopher Durang and, posthumously, costume designer Martin Pakledinaz.

Betty Buckley
Betty Buckley Photo by Myriam Santos

The 42nd Annual Theatre Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Jan. 28, 2013, at 7:30 PM in the Gershwin Theatre's North Rotunda.

Terry Hodge Taylor produces.

Founded in 1971 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, Gerard Oestreicher and L. Arnold Weissberger, the Theater Hall of Fame honors Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater. The annual ballot has 50 nominees in 10 categories. Over 250 members of the Theater Hall of Fame and American Theater Critics Association are the voting body. The top eight nominees receiving the most votes are annually inducted.

Nederlander Organization Chairman James M. Nederlander and celebrated actress Marian Seldes are the Honorary Chairs. The induction ceremony will be followed by dinner at the New York Friars Club.

Last year's inductees included actors Tyne Daly and Ben Vereen; costume designer Ann Roth; director Daniel Sullivan; producers George White, Elliot Martin and Woodie King Jr.; and, posthumously, director Paul Sills. Buckley offered acclaimed performances in Broadway's Sunset Boulevard, Carrie, Song & Dance, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, 1776, Triumph of Love and Promises, Promises. She won a Tony Award for her performance as Grizabella in the Broadway production of Cats, and she starred on the London stage in Promises, Promises and Sunset Boulevard, earning an Olivier Award nomination for her work in the latter. Her screen credits are numerous. Visit Buckley's page at the Playbill Vault.

Waterston, who was nominated for a Tony Award in 1994 for his performance in Abe Lincoln in Illinois, has also been seen on Broadway in A Walk in the Woods; Benefactors; Lunch Hour; Hamlet; A Doll's House; Much Ado About Nothing; The Trial of the Catonsville Nine; Hay Fever; Indians; Halfway Up the Tree; First One Asleep, Whistle; and Oh Dad, Poor Dad, Mamma's Hung You in the Closet and I'm Feelin' So Sad. Visit Waterston's page at the Playbill Vault.

Director Nunn is a three-time Tony Award winner for his work on The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby, Cats and Les Misérables. He was also Tony-nominated for his direction of All's Well That Ends Well, Starlight Express, Aspects of Love, Sunset Boulevard, Not About Nightingales and Oklahoma! His other Broadway credits include A Little Night Music, Rock 'n' Roll, The Woman in White, Arcadia and Chess. Visit Nunn's page at the Playbill Vault.

Director Kahn, a Tony nominee for his work on the 1983 musical Show Boat, has also directed the Broadway productions of Whodunnit, The Night of the Tribades, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Othello, King Henry V, The Death of Bessie Smith/The American Dream and Here's Where I Belong. Visit Kahn's page at the Playbill Vault.

Playwright Durang was Tony-nominated for Best Book of a Musical for A History of the American Film and received Drama Desk nominations for Betty's Summer Vacation and DasLusitania Spongspiel. His other works include All About Me, Sex and Longing and Beyond Therapy. His newest work, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, will begin previews Oct. 25 at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater following its current run at New Jersey's McCarter Theatre Center. Visit Durang's page at the Playbill Vault.

Producer-director Bishop has been the artistic director of Lincoln Center Theater since January 1992; prior to Lincoln Center, Bishop served as Playwright Horizons' artistic director. Bishop's Broadway credits include the Broadway-bound productions of Ann and Golden Boy as well as Other Desert Cities, War Horse, A Free Man of Color, Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, In the Next Room, Joe Turner's Come and Gone, Dividing the Estate, South Pacific, Cymbeline, The Coast of Utopia, Awake and Sing!, The Light in the Piazza, King Lear, Thou Shalt Not, Matters of the Heart, Contact, The Little Foxes, Ianov, Carousel, My Favorite Year and The Most Happy Fella, among many others. Visit Bishop's page at the Playbill Vault.

Playwright Vogel received the 1998 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for her play How I Learned to Drive and the 1992 Obie Award for The Baltimore Waltz. Her other works include Desdemona, A Play About A Handkerchief, The Oldest Profession, And Baby Makes Seven, Hot 'N Throbbing and The Mineola Twins, among others. She is also the recipient of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize and the PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater Award.

Late costume designer Pakledinaz won Tony Awards for his work on Thoroughly Modern Millie and Kiss Me, Kate. He was Tony-nominated for his costume design of The Life, Golden Child, The Pajama Game, Gypsy, Blithe Spirit, Lend Me a Tenor, Anything Goes and Nice Work If You Can Get It. His other Broadway projects include Chaplin, Man and Boy, Master Class, The Normal Heart, Is He Dead?, Grease, The Pirate Queen, Wonderful Town, The Look of Love and The Boys From Syracuse, among others. Visit Pakledinaz's page at the Playbill Vault.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!