Cheyenne Jackson’s New Solo Recording Released Today

News   Cheyenne Jackson’s New Solo Recording Released Today
Renaissance features a 22-piece orchestra.
Cover Art for<i> Renaissance</i>
Cover Art for Renaissance

Stage and screen star Cheyenne Jackson, most recently on Broadway in the revival of Finian's Rainbow, releases his latest solo album, Renaissance, June 3.

Jackson and a 22-piece orchestra, conducted by Kevin Stites, can be heard on the new recording, which is available on the PS Classics label.

Here is a track from the CD, available exclusively on Jackson sings “Feelin’ Good” from the musical The Roar of the Greasepaint—The Smell of the Crowd:

The album features a guest appearance by Tony Award winner (and 2016 nominee) Jane Krakowski, who is back on Broadway in the revival of She Loves Me.

Alan and Barbara Marks, of the Marks-Moore-Turnbull Group, serve as executive producers. The disc is produced by label co-founder Tommy Krasker.

The album can be ordered on and

Renaissance is adapted from Music of the Mad Men Era, the solo concert Jackson has toured with over the last several years. ”Reviving an era that witnessed both the last gasp of Hollywood’s glamorous golden age and the rise of Las Vegas’s swinging Rat Pack,” according to press notes, ”Jackson paints a multihued portrait of mid-century masculinity in song. With a voice that can seduce and astonish seemingly anywhere on the scale, Jackson moves effortlessly between a wide variety of popular styles of the era, including jazz, bolero, rockabilly and soul.” The album includes such songs as “Angel Eyes,” “Bésame Mucho,” “Somethin’ Stupid” and “A Change Is Gonna Come.”

Here is a complete track list:

1. “Feelin‘ Good”
2. “Americano”
3. “Angel Eyes”
4. “Besame Mucho”
5. “Somethin' Stupid” (with Jane Krakowski)
6. “I (Who Have Nothing)”
7. “A Case of You”
8. “Walkin' My Baby Back Home”
9. “Red Wine is Good For My Heart”
10. “A Song For You”
11. “A Change Is Gonna Come”
12. “Your Song”

Philip Chaffin, co-founder of PS Classics, previously told, “A colleague, Scott Russell, who’d helped bring Cheyenne’s solo concert to Florida, contacted me after seeing it, saying it would make a sensational recording. We got in touch with Cheyenne—we’d worked with him last on Finian’s Rainbow, and talked about collaborating again sometime—and Cheyenne was enthusiastic. He’s been performing this material for a couple years now, and it’s very much part of his blood; he really wanted to see it preserved. And once we heard it, we agreed. It’s dazzling. It so harkens back to a dual period in music history: the end of Hollywood’s Golden Age, only sexier, and the start of the great era of Las Vegas entertainment, only classier. It’s a remarkable synthesis, on which Cheyenne sings up a storm, and we’re thrilled to be recording it.”

A nine-time Grammy nominee (for its cast albums of Assassins, Nine: The Musical, Grey Gardens, Company, A Little Night Music, Sondheim on Sondheim, Follies, The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess and the current Fun Home), PS Classics’ catalog includes award-winning cast recordings; solo albums by such artists as Victoria Clark, Maureen McGovern, Kate Baldwin, Steven Pasquale and Liz Callaway; and restorations of long-lost musicals, including Sweet Bye and Bye, Kitty’s Kisses and Sweet Little Devil. Recent releases include the original Broadway cast recording of Fun Home, new Broadway cast recordings of On the Town and On the Twentieth Century, the first complete recording of the 1954 classic The Golden Apple and the 2015 New York cast recording of A New Brain.

Visit the Playbill Store for other recordings and theatrical merchandise.

(Updated June 3, 2016)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: