Finalists Announced for Samuel French’s Off Off Broadway Short Play Festival | Playbill

Readings and Workshops Finalists Announced for Samuel French’s Off Off Broadway Short Play Festival
32 artists will have their work presented during the week-long event.

The 42nd annual Samuel French Off Off Broadway Short Play Festival will showcase 30 works from 32 playwrights. The week-long festival will take place August 8–12 at the East 13th Street Theater (home of Classic Stage Company).

Through the first four days, a panel of industry professionals will choose one to three plays to move on to the finals, which will be presented August 12. The Samuel French staff will determine six winning pieces, which will be published and made available for licensing in an anthology.

The OOB Festival began in 1975. Past participants include Theresa Rebeck, Shirley Lauro, Sheila Callghan, Bekah Brunstetter, Steve Yockey, Saviana Stanescu, Kelly Younger, Gloria Calderon Kellett, and Martyna Majok.

For tickets and a complete performance calendar, visit See below for a full list of finalists who will take part in the 2017 festival.

Marco Calvani for The View From Up Here
Carey Crim for Green Dot Day
Simon de Carvalho for The Great Parade of Upper Kennington
Julia Doolittle for Associates in Communications
Gillian Beth Durkee for Romance at the Shoe Factory
Shara Feit for Young Women of Valor
Jahna Ferron-Smith for SIR.
Alex Flanigan for Singularity
Geoffrey Goldberg and Joseph Olson for Everyday: A Subway Romance
Miranda Rose Hall for What Happened at the Dolphin Show
Sarah K Hammond and Emily Goldman for Jack + Jill
Elin Hampton for F4
Brough Hansen for The Blue
Rendah Heywood for The Grievance Club
Deb Hiett for The Presentation
Nancy Lucia Hoffman for Launching
Miranda Jonte for The Shark Play
Amanda Keating for this movie
Rosie Kellett for Morker
Drew Lewis for Registered
Erin Mallon for The Spotted Gentleman
Eric Marlin for Breakfast Scene
Jessica Moss for Square Footage
Tom Mularz for Latch
Jack Novak for Panel Discussion
Eliana Pipes for Stiletto Envy
Michael Ross for Eyes Full of Pornography
Annette Storckman for Desk Fort
Seamus Sullivan for Sad 2AM Sex Fantasy
Caitlin Turnage for The Holes in Human Flesh


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!