Fire Dept is "At War": Cerveris, Sarsgaard Lead New Readings Series June 25

News   Fire Dept is "At War": Cerveris, Sarsgaard Lead New Readings Series June 25
Michael Cerveris, Peter Sarsgaard, Julianna Margulies, David Strathairn, Aasif Mandvi and more read "At War: American Playwrights Respond to Iraq" for The Fire Dept's inaugural Salon Series June 25.

The new theatre company presents the first installment of its new reading series at 6:30 PM at the National Arts Club. Erica Gould directs.

Cerveris (Sweeney Todd, Love Musik), Sarsgaard ("Garden State," Burn This), Margulies (Festen, "ER"), Strathairn (Salome, "Good Night and Good Luck") and Mandvi ("The Daily Show," Guantanamo) lead the cast.

Also set to appear are Jason Antoon, Jessica Blank, David Calvitto, Judith Hawking, Laura Heisler, Sal Inzerillo, Erik Jensen, Ty Jones, Haskell King, Audrey Rosenberg, Jonathan Schaefer, Jeremy Schwartz, Paul Sparks and Mather Zickel.

The Salon Series is described as "staged readings of new plays that address compelling contemporary issues, followed by food, drink and intimate discussion among the artists, audience and noteworthy guest speakers."

Such playwrights as Jose Rivera, Bathsheba Doran, Cory Hinkle, Rajiv Joseph, Ryan Kelly, Peter Maloney, Lynn Rosen and Jonathan Schaefer and The Exonerated's Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen express their views on the war in Iraq in the works created for "At War." A portion of the proceeds from the evening will be donated to Campaign for Innocent Victims in Conflict. The Fire Dept — initially inspired by The Exonerated and Brave New World: American Theatre Responds to 9/11 — "is made up of established and emerging writers, directors, actors and designers who have come together to create and produce work that cannot be replicated inside a television box or on a movie screen," according to an announcement.

Blank (The Exonerated), Gould (Brave New World) and Audrey Rosenberg (Elle) serve as artistic directors for the troupe.

The Artistic Advisory Board for The Fire Dept includes Peter Askin, Jill Clayburgh, Emily Mann, Lynn Redgrave, Marian Seldes and Sam Waterston. Founding members of the group include Kathleen Chalfant, Constance Congdon, Chuck Cooper, Peter Gallagher, Janeane Garafalo, Jeff Goldblum, Judith Hawking, Erik Jensen, Toby Jones, Harry Lennix, Matthew Modine, Dael Orlandersmith, Jose Rivera, Jake Robards and Rebecca Wisocky.

Tickets for "At War: American Playwrights Respond to Iraq" at the National Arts Club, 15 Gramercy Park South, are $35 and are available by calling (212) 352-3101 or toll free at (8660 811-4111. For updates and more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: