First Look: Watch the Cast of Frozen at Their Sitzprobe

Sponsored Content   First Look: Watch the Cast of Frozen at Their Sitzprobe
The music team behind the upcoming Broadway musical talks about the excitement and emotion of hearing the score sung through by the entire cast with full orchestra for the first time.
Robert Lopez, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Michael Grandage,
Robert Lopez, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Michael Grandage, Caissie Levy, John Riddle, Greg Hildreth, Patti Murin, and Jelani Alladin Marc J. Franklin

In the video below, the music team behind the upcoming Frozen on Broadway—including Oscar winning songwriters Kristen Anderson-Lopez and husband Robert Lopez—talk about the excitement that accompanied the cast and crew’s sitzprobe before the production began its out-of-town tryout in Denver last summer.

The first time the entire cast and orchestra ran through a musical’s score together, the sitzprobe turned out to be an emotional affair for everyone involved as they all experienced the thrill of the score (which boasts 12 new songs that were not in the film). Snippets of some of the brand-new songs from the score can be heard in the video!

Previews of Frozen begin at the St. James Theatre February 22, prior to an opening night of March 22. Beginning February 23, fans can enjoy four consecutive weeks of Frozen Fridays, when brand-new songs from the score will be released individually on and wherever music is streamed and sold.

Directed by Tony winner Michael Grandage (Red) with choreography by Tony winner Rob Ashford and a book by Jennifer Lee, Frozen stars Broadway veterans Caissie Levy as Elsa and Patti Murin as Anna. The two women are joined by principal cast members Jelani Alladin (Kristoff), Greg Hildreth (Olaf), John Riddle (Hans), Robert Creighton (Weselton), Kevin Del Aguila (Oaken), Timothy Hughes (Pabbie), Andrew Pirozzi (Sven), Audrey Bennett (Young Anna), Mattea Conforti (Young Anna), Brooklyn Nelson (Young Elsa), Ayla Schwartz (Young Elsa), Alyssa Fox (Elsa Standby), Aisha Jackson (Anna Standby) and Adam Jepsen (Sven Alternate).

In a cast of over 40, Frozen also features Alicia Albright, Tracee Beazer, Wendi Bergamini, Ashley Blanchet, James Brown III, Claire Camp, Lauren Nicole Chapman, Spencer Clark, Jeremy Davis, Kali Grinder, Ashley Elizabeth Hale, Zach Hess, Donald Jones, Jr., Nina Lafarga, Ross Lekites, Austin Lesch, Synthia Link, Travis Patton, Adam Perry, Jeff Pew, Olivia Phillip, Noah J. Ricketts, Ann Sanders, Jacob Smith and Nicholas Ward.

The production also has scenic and costume design by two-time Tony and Olivier Award winner Christopher Oram, lighting design by six-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, sound design by four-time Tony nominee Peter Hylenski, video design by Tony winner Finn Ross, puppet design by Michael Curry, hair design by David Brian Brown, makeup design by Anne Ford-Coates, and special effects design by Jeremy Chernick.

Two-time Tony Award winner Stephen Oremus is music supervisor and creates vocal, incidental, and dance arrangements. He is joined on the music team by Tony nominee Dave Metzger (orchestrations), Chris Montan (executive music producer), David Chase (additional dance arrangements), and Brian Usifer (music director).

Frozen is produced by Disney Theatrical Productions under the direction of Thomas Schumacher.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: