Following Several Cast Changes, George Street's Twelve Angry Men Begins March 13

News   Following Several Cast Changes, George Street's Twelve Angry Men Begins March 13
The George Street Playhouse's production of Reginald Rose's Twelve Angry Men begins performances at the New Jersey venue March 13.

Terry Layman
Terry Layman

Directed by artistic director David Saint, performances will continue through April 8.

Terry Layman heads the cast as Juror 9; Jack Klugman was originally cast in the role but withdrew due to illness. David Canary, who had been announced to replace Klugman, was also forced to withdraw due to a family matter. Layman, who understudied the role on Broadway, has stepped in.

In addition to Layman, the jury-room drama's cast includes George Street veterans Jim Bracchitta (Come Back, Come Back, Wherever You Are), David Adkins (The Seafarer), Lee Sellars (The Subject Was Roses), David Schramm (GSP's The Seafarer and TV's "Wings"), Jonathan Hadary (Jolson Sings Again and Broadway's Gypsy) and John Bolger (Lips Together, Teeth Apart), as well as four-time Tony Award nominee Gregg Edelman (City of Angels, Passion), Scott Drummond (Mother Courage and Her Children at La Jolla Playhouse), James Rebhorn (TV's "Homeland" and "White Collar"), Michael Sirow (the films "Meskada," "Union Square"), Jonathan C. Kaplan (Broadway's Falsettos, The Diary of Anne Frank) and Andrew Nogasky (Brink! at Actors Theatre of Louisville).

"A young man is on trial for the first degree murder of his own father – a charge which carries a mandatory death sentence," according to production notes. "As the curtain opens, the twelve men are instructed by the judge on the gravity of their deliberations, saying that if there is the slightest doubt in their minds as to the guilt of the defendant, they must acquit. Eleven members believe that the young man is guilty; one juror – Juror 8 – is not convinced, and asks the others to persuade him. The drama depicts a jury forced to reconsider its nearly unanimous decision by the single dissenter who sows a seed of reasonable doubt. Throughout their deliberations, the men do not even call each other by name – because they don’t know their names. But as the deliberation goes one, they learn more about each other than they ever bargained for."

Creating the world of Twelve Angry Men are set designer R. Michael Miller, costume designer Esther Arroyo and lighting and sound designer Christopher J. Bailey. For tickets and information, contact the George Street Playhouse Box Office at (732) 246-7717. George Street Playhouse is located at 9 Livingston Avenue in the heart of downtown New Brunswick.

Today’s Most Popular News: