Fortress of Solitude Cast Album Sets March Release; Preview Track Available

News   Fortress of Solitude Cast Album Sets March Release; Preview Track Available
Ghostlight Records has announced that the cast album of the world-premiere musical The Fortress of Solitude will be released online and in stores March 24.

To pre-order the album, visit An advance preview track, "The One I Remember," featuring the full cast, is currently available to stream on Youtube.

The album features orchestrations by John Clancy, with additional orchestrations by Matt Beck. The 24-track, 70-minute recording was produced by Dean Sharenow and Kurt Deutsch.

Conceived and directed by Daniel Aukin, Fortress of Solitude opened Off-Broadway Oct. 22, 2014, at the Public Theater, where it played an extended run. The coming-of-age story about 1970's Brooklyn and beyond was based on the national best-selling novel of the same name by Jonathan Lethem, with a book by Itamar Moses, and music and lyrics by Michael Friedman (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, Love's Labour's Lost).

The cast featured Ken Barnett (Abraham Ebdus); Kyle Beltran (Mingus); Adam Chanler-Berat (Dylan); André De Shields (Senior); Carla Duren (Marilla); Stephane Duret (Swing); Rebecca Naomi Jones (Lala, Abby); Jahi Kearse (Raf, Henry, Desmond, Jared); Kevin Mambo (Junior); Malaiyka Reid (Swing); Noah Ricketts (Swing); David Rossmer (Arthur); Conor Ryan (Radio Guy, Mike, Gabe); Kristen Sieh (Rachel Ebdus); Britton Smith (Subtle Distinction); Brian Tyree Henry (Robert) Akron Watson (Subtle Distinction); Alison Whitehurst (Skater Girl, Liza); and Juson Williams (Subtle Distinction).

According to press notes, the new musical is billed as a blend of "black and white, soul and rap, block parties and blackouts, friendship and betrayal, comic books and 45s. And the story of what would happen if two teenagers obsessed with superheroes believed that maybe, just maybe, they could fly." The Fortress of Solitude track list is below:                                                 

1.       Prelude

2.       The One I Remember

3.       The Time Keeps Changing

4.       Grab Something (And Never Let Go)

5.       Superman/Sidekick

6.       White Boy

7.       The Ballad of Barrett Rude, Sr.

8.      Painting

9.       This Little World

10.   Take Me to the Bridge

11.    High High High School

12.    I’m Busy Now (So Don’t Bother Me)/Act One Finale

13.    Act Two Prelude

14.    If I Had Known Then (What I Know Now)

15.    Bothered Blue

16.    Take It Baby

17.    Who’s Calling Me?

18.   Something

19.    This Little World (Reprise)

20.   The Ballad of Mingus Rude

21.    Sidekick (Reprise)

22.   Superman (Reprise)

23.   The Gift

24.   Middle Spaces


For other theatrical merchandise, visit The Playbill Store

Today’s Most Popular News: