Four Playwrights Share Susan Smith Blackburn Award

News   Four Playwrights Share Susan Smith Blackburn Award
Four playwrights will share this year's Susan Smith Blackburn Award: Lucy Caldwell for Leaves, Sheila Callaghan for Dead City, Stella Feehily for O Go My Man and Abbie Spallen for Pumpgirl.

Spallen and Feehily are from Ireland, Caldwell is from Northern Ireland, and Callaghan is American.

The 29th annual honor is given to an outstanding English language work by a female dramatist.

Judges for the 2007 awards included actors Jill Clayburgh and Deborah Findlay, playwright John Guare, The Public Theater's artistic director Oskar Eustis, London Financial Times chief theatre critic Alastair Macauley and U.K. director Anna Mackmin.

The previously announced list of finalists was:

  • Lucy Caldwell - Leaves
  • Sheila Callaghan - Dead City
  • Julia Cho - The Piano Teacher
  • Katie Douglas - Rust
  • Stella Feehily - O Go My Man
  • Amy Fox - One Thing I Like To Say Is
  • Julia Jordan - Dark Yellow
  • C. Michèle Kaplan - Bot
  • Nell Leyshon - Comfort Me With Apples
  • Tamsin Oglesby - The War Next Door
  • Abbie Spallen - Pumpgirl
  • Francine Volpe - The Given Playwrights Amelia Bullmore and Elizabeth Kuti split last year's award for Mammals and The Sugar Wife, respectively.

    The honor has also gone to Gurpreet Kaur Bhatti's Behzti (Dishonour), Sarah Ruhl's The Clean House, Dael Orlandersmith's Yellowman, Susan Miller's A Map of Doubt and Rescue, Gina Gionfriddo's U.S. Drag, Bridget Carpenter's Fall, Charlotte Jones' Humble Boy, Jessica Goldberg's Refuge, Paula Vogel's How I Learned to Drive and Moira Buffini's Silence.

    The Susan Smith Blackburn Award is named for the noted American actress and writer who died in 1977.

    Plays are eligible whether or not they have been produced, but any first production must have taken place within the preceding 12 months. This year's finalists were chosen from approximately 90 submissions.

  • Today’s Most Popular News: