Fowler, Oscar, Ziemba, Hopkins and More to Salute Stein Nov. 12

News   Fowler, Oscar, Ziemba, Hopkins and More to Salute Stein Nov. 12
As previously announced, the York Theatre Company will honor Joseph Stein — who penned the books to such musicals as Fiddler on the Roof, Zorba, Rags, The Baker's Wife and Take Me Along — during its annual gala Nov. 12 at Saint Peter's Church.
Karen Ziemba
Karen Ziemba

Tony winner Stein will be presented with the 2007 Oscar Hammerstein Award during the concert celebration of his career, which will be directed by Stuart Ross. The concert will be preceded by dinner at Brasserie on East 53rd Street.

The evening is scheduled to include performances by Beth Fowler, Renée Goldsberry, Megan Lawrence, Gay Marshall, Brad Oscar, Lenny Wolpe, Karen Ziemba, Bruce Adler, Paul Binotto, Jill Eikenberry, Erick Devine, Josh Grisetti, Kaitlin Hopkins, George S. Irving, Trisha Rapier, Robb Sapp, Emily Shoolin, Kelly Sullivan and Michael Tucker.

The concert will also feature several actors who have appeared in recent Musicals in Mufti concerts at the York: Wendi Bergamini (The Baker's Wife), Jacque Carnahan (The Baker's Wife), Betsy DiLellio (The Baker's Wife), Laura Marie Duncan (The Body Beautiful), Michael J. Farina (Fanny Hill), Joy Franz (The Baker's Wife), Amy Goldberger (The Body Beautiful), Rick Hilsabeck (Plain and Fancy), Lorinda Lisitza (Plain and Fancy), Andrew Rasmussen (Take Me Along), Adam Riegler (I and Albert), Ray Wills (Carmelina) and Deone Zanotto (Zorba). Stein collaborators John Kander, Stephen Schwartz, Charles Strouse, Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock will also be a part of the gala evening.

The award follows a year-long salute to the work of Stein, whose musicals have been celebrated in the company's Musicals in Mufti series.

Past recipients of the Oscar Hammerstein Award — named in honor of the legendary lyricist of Oklahoma! and South Pacific — include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing and Tony Walton. The evening will begin with cocktails at 6 PM, followed by dinner at Brasserie at 6:30 PM and the performance at 8:15 PM. A champagne dessert reception and cast party will follow.

For tickets and further details visit or call (212) 935-5820.

Today’s Most Popular News: