Frances Ruffelle, Craig Bierko, Chuck Cooper, Jim Dale, More Honor Jamie deRoy April 11

Industry News   Frances Ruffelle, Craig Bierko, Chuck Cooper, Jim Dale, More Honor Jamie deRoy April 11
Producer-performer and host DeRoy is celebrating her 30th year as a member of the Friars Club.
Frances Ruffelle and Craig Bierko Bruce Glikas/GettyEntertainment

The New York Friars Club honors producer, performer, and host Jamie deRoy April 11 to celebrate her 30th anniversary as one of the Club’s first eight female members.  Entitled Jamie deRoy, 30 Years a Friar, the event will be held at The Friars Club, 57 East 55th Street.

Jamie deRoy Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The evening begins at 6 PM with cocktails followed by dinner at 7 PM and 8:30 PM for the show.

The tribute is directed by Barry Kleinbort with musical direction by Ron Abel.

Judy Gold hosts the evening, which features special tributes and performances by Craig Bierko, Chuck Cooper, Jim Dale, Penny Fuller, Larry Gatlin, Anita Gillette, Julie Gold, Rupert Holmes, Frances Ruffelle, and Benjamin Scheuer.


In 1988, deRoy, Liza Minnelli, Joan Rivers, Brooke Shields, Broadcast Music, Inc. President and CEO Frances Preston, Filmworld Television President Beverly Partridge, independent television commercial producer Jeanne Harrison, and Outer Critics Circle President Marjorie Gunner became the first eight women to join The Friars, the club for entertainment professionals and others involved in show business.

In addition to Tony Awards, deRoy has won eight MAC Awards, four Backstage Bistro Awards, and 11 Telly Awards for her extensive work on stage and screen.

“It is especially fitting that we honor Jamie, a Friars Club trailblazer, for her many show business achievements, including her devotion to the Club and its Foundation,” Michael Gyure, New York Friars Club executive director, said in a statement.

(Updated April 11, 2018)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: