Fringe Festival Announces Overall Excellence Award Winners | Playbill

Related Articles
News Fringe Festival Announces Overall Excellence Award Winners Blanche Survives Hurricane Katrina…, Love is Dead, Perez Hilton Saves the Universe... and Krapp, 39 are among the 2008 FringeNYC Overall Excellence Award winners.

The winning selections were announced Aug. 24 at the Deluxe at Spiegelworld during the closing-night party of the 12th annual New York International Fringe Festival.

The 2008 FringeNYC Overall Excellence Award winners follow:

  • Outstanding Play:
    The Umbrella Plays
    Sailor Man
    Too Much Memory
  • Outstanding Musical:
    China - The Whole Enchilada
    Perez Hilton Saves the Universe...
  • Outstanding Playwrighting:
    Montserrat Mendez, Thoroughly Stupid Things...
    Paul Cohen, Mourn the Living Hector
    Suzie Miller, Reasonable Doubt
    Halley Bondy, The Redheaded Man


    Outstanding Music & Lyrics:
    Julie Nichols, Lames Asmus and Andrew Hobgood, Love is Dead Outstanding Solo Show:
    Krapp, 39
    Blanche Survives Hurricane Katrina...

  • Outstanding Direction:
    Bill Oliver, The Alice Complex
    Heather Cohen, Other Bodies
    Nell Balaban, The Boy in the Basement
    Jon Levin, There Will Come Soft Rains
  • Outstanding Costume Design:
    Angela Harner, Gem! A Truly Outrageous Parody!
    Jennifer Kirschman, The Fabulous Kane Sisters...
    Charlie LaGreca, The Gargoyle Garden
  • Outstanding Lighting Design:
    Teresa Hull, The Permanent Night
  • Outstanding Actor:
    Molly Bell, Becoming Britney
    Hogan Gorman, Hot Cripple
    Movin Melvin Brown, A Man, A Magic, A Music
    Deborah Weston, See How Beautiful I Am
    Will Manning, Choke City & Revolution on the Roof
  • Outstanding Ensemble:
    Keep Your Eyes Open
    Gem! A Truly Outrageous Parody!
    Paper Dolls
  • Outstanding Set Design:
    Tania Bijlani, The Alice Complex
  • Outstanding Choreography:
    Lizzie Leopold, Green Eyes In addition, Blanche Survives Hurricane Katrina... and I Love You, Petty & Favre were named the 2008 Village Voice Audience Favorite Award Winners.

    Previous Fringe Festival award-winning participants have gone on to enjoy commercial life Off-Broadway, including Bash'd: A Gay Rap Opera, Walmartopia, Dog Sees God, Debbie Does Dallas, Never Swim Alone, 21 Dog Years: Doing Time @, Matt & Ben, The Joys of Sex and Urinetown; the latter made a Tony Award-winning Broadway transfer.

    The 13th Annual New York International Fringe Festival will run Aug. 7-24, 2009. For more information visit

    Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!