Gettin’ the Band Back Together Opens on Broadway August 13

Broadway News   Gettin’ the Band Back Together Opens on Broadway August 13
The musical comedy celebrates its official opening at the Belasco Theatre.

The Broadway premiere of Gettin’ the Band Back Together celebrates its official opening at the Belasco Theatre August 13. The new musical comedy is about a 40-year-old, out-of-work banker who moves back in with his mother and decides to reunite his old high school rock band.

Performances of Gettin’ the Band Back Together began July 19. The production, directed by Tony winner John Rando and choreographed by Chris Bailey, stars Mitchell Jarvis as Mitch.


The principal cast of Gettin’ the Band Back Together also features Marilu Henner as Mitch's mother Sharon, Jay Klaitz as Bart Vickers, Manu Narayan as Dr. Rummesh "Robbie" Patel, Paul Whitty as Michael “Sully” Sullivan, Sawyer Nunes as Ricky “Bling” Goldstein, Kelli Barrett as Dani, Becca Kötte as Tawney, Garth Kravits as Ritchie, Tamika Lawrence as Roxanne Velasco, Noa Solorio as Billie, and Brandon Williams as Tygen Billows.

The cast also includes Lindsey Brett Carothers, Ryan Duncan, Scott Richard Foster, Jenny Hill, Nehal Joshi, J. Elaine Marcos, Rob Marnell, Jasmin Richardson, Ian Ward, and Tad Wilson.

The musical features a book by Ken Davenport (who also produces) and the performance group Grundleshotz, who helped develop the show. Mark Allen penned the score, and Sarah Saltzberg (a member of Grundleshotz) provided additional material.

The creative team also includes Tony Award winners Derek McLane (scenic design), Emily Rebholz (costume design), Ken Billington (lighting design), and John Shivers (sound design). The show features music direction by Sonny Paladino and casting by Eisenberg/Beans Casting.

Gettin’ the Band Back Together is making its Broadway debut following a world premiere in 2013 at George Street Playhouse, also directed by Rando.

The production is produced by Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Roy Putrino, Sandi Moran, Carl Daikeler, Broadway Strategic Return Fund, Rob Kolson, H. Richard Hopper, Richard Roth, Marie Barton Stevenson, Diego Kolankowsky, Marguerite Hoffman, Brian Cromwell Smith, Darrell Hankey, Trevor Coates, Wagstaffe Productions, WitzEnd Productions, David Bryant, Laura Z. Barket, Judith Manocherian, Mach 1 Partners, John McGrain, Steve Reynolds, and Ladybug Productions. The associate producers are Kayla Greenspan and Valerie Novakoff.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Latest News