Gilman, Ruhl and Kaufman Among 2008 Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award Finalists

News   Gilman, Ruhl and Kaufman Among 2008 Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award Finalists
The six finalists for the annual Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award have been announced.

Winners will be revealed March 29 at a ceremony at the Humana Festival of New American Plays at Actors Theatre in Louisville, KY. The top honoree will receive $25,000, the largest prize for a national playwriting award. Two additional playwrights will each receive $7,500.

The award is presented by the American Theatre Critics Association (ATCA) with funding from the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.

The six finalists (and the theatres at which the plays were first produced) follow:

  • The Crowd You're in With by Rebecca Gilman (Magic Theatre in San Francisco)


  • Dead Man's Cell Phone by Sarah Ruhl (Washington D.C.'s Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company)
  • End Days by Deborah Zoe Laufer (Florida Stage in Manalapan)
  • The English Channel by Robert Brustein (Suffolk University and then the Vineyard Playhouse on Martha's Vineyard)
  • Strike-Slip by Naomi Iizuka (Humana Festival)
  • 33 Variations by Moises Kaufman (Washington's Arena Stage) Finalists were selected from 28 eligible scripts submitted by ATCA members. None had productions in New York City in 2007, according to eligibility requirements. The plays were evaluated by a committee of 12 theatre critics from around the U.S.

    Past honorees of the New Play Award, which was established in 1977, include Lanford Wilson, Marsha Norman, August Wilson, Jane Martin, Arthur Miller, Mac Wellman, Adrienne Kennedy, Donald Margulies, Lee Blessing, Lynn Nottage, Horton Foote and Craig Lucas.

    Last year's winner was Peter Sinn Nachtrieb's Hunter Gatherers.

  • Today’s Most Popular News: