GLAAD Media Award Winners Include I Am My Own Wife, "Queer Eye" and "Sex and the City"

News   GLAAD Media Award Winners Include I Am My Own Wife, "Queer Eye" and "Sex and the City"
Winners of the 15th Annual GLAAD Media Awards were presented April 12 at the Marriot Marquis Hotel in Manhattan.
I Am My Own Wife star Jefferson Mays
I Am My Own Wife star Jefferson Mays Photo by Joan Marcus

Doug Wright, who recently received the Pulitzer Prize for I Am My Own Wife, was awarded the GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding New York Theatre Broadway and Off-Broadway for his play about a German transvestite who survives the Nazi and Communist regimes. Wright and director Moises Kaufman were on hand to accept their latest prize. I Am My Own Wife competed in a category that included Avenue Q, Flesh and Blood, The Last Sunday in June and Boy George's Taboo.

"Queer Eye for the Straight Guy," the BRAVO series that features former Zanna, Don't! star Jai Rodriguez, was named Outstanding Reality Program in a field that also featured "The Amazing Race 4," "America's Next Top Model," "Boy Meets Boy" and "The Real World/Road Rules Challenge: The Gauntlet." And, "Sex and the City," the recently ended HBO series that co-starred theatre actresses Sarah Jessica Parker and Cynthia Nixon, picked up its latest prize, a GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comedy Series. Producer Michael Patrick King and actress Nixon accepted the prize.

Glenn Close also presented a special award — the Vita Russo Award — to Tony Award winner Cherry Jones. Jones received her Tony Award for her work in the 1995 revival of The Heiress; she was also Tony-nominated for her performances in Our Country's Good and A Moon for the Misbegotten.

A separate GLAAD Media Awards ceremony was held in Los Angeles March 28. During that evening, awards were presented to Miss Coco Peru Is Undaunted (Outstanding Los Angeles Theatre) and Marga Gomez's Intimate Details (Outstanding New York Theatre: Off-Off Broadway). A third ceremony will take place Saturday, June 5 at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco.

The annual GLAAD Media Awards honor the best in journalism, film, TV and theatre. GLAAD is dedicated to promoting fair, accurate, and inclusive representation of individuals and events in all media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation. The complete list of winners presented April 12 in Manhattan follows. For more information visit

Excellence in Media Award: Julianne Moore (presented by Todd Haynes)
Vito Russo Award: Cherry Jones (presented by Glenn Close)
Barbara Gittings Award: "In the Life" (presented by Judith Light)

Outstanding Comedy Series: "Sex and the City" (HBO) [Accepted by: producer, Michael Patrick King and Cynthia Nixon]

Outstanding Reality Program : "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy" (Bravo) [Accepted by: producer, David Collins]

Outstanding Television Journalism: TIE: "Not Fit to Fight" "Primetime Thursday" (ABC) & "Up Close: The Killing of Gwen Araujo" KCAL 9 News [Los Angeles] [Accepted by: ABC News Chief Legal Correspondent, Cynthia McFadden]

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage : Newsweek [Accepted by: Nation Editor, Tom Watson]

Outstanding Spanish Language Magazine Article : "Un beso por la igualdad de derechos", by Teresa Aranguez, "People en Español" [Accepted by: Editor, Richard Perez-Feria]

Outstanding New York Theater Broadway and Off-Broadway: I Am My Own Wife [Accepted by: Pulitzer Prize winner, Doug Wright, and director Moises Kaufman]

Today’s Most Popular News: