"Glee" and "Modern Family" Among Winners of 69th Annual Peabody Awards

News   "Glee" and "Modern Family" Among Winners of 69th Annual Peabody Awards
The winners of the 69th Annual George Foster Peabody Awards, which are given annually by the University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication for "excellence in electronic media," were announced at the college March 31.

Among the recipients are two hit new comedies, FOX-TV's "Glee" and ABC-TV's "Modern Family"; two much-praised dramas from HBO-TV, "In Treatment" and "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency"; and "Endgame," a PBS-TV television movie depicting the end of South African apartheid. The above-listed winners feature many stage veterans in their casts, including Matthew Morrison, Lea Michele and Jane Lynch ("Glee"); Jesse Tyler Ferguson ("Modern Family"); Gabriel Byrne, Dianne Weist, Hope Davis and Alison Pill ("In Treatment"); Anika Noni Rose ("The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency"); and Chiwetel Ejiofor, Jonny Lee Miller and Derek Jacobi ("Endgame").

Other winners include the "American Masters"/PBS-TV documentary "Something to Dance About," which profiled director-choreographer Jerome Robbins; CBS-TV's "The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson;" episodes of CBS-TV's "60 Minutes" which look at cyber-attacks and health care; and the HBO documentary "Thrilla in Manila," which examines Muhammad Ali's boxing matches with Joe Frazier in the 1970's.

The awards will be presented May 17 in New York. For more information and a complete list of winners, visit peabody.uga.edu.

Today’s Most Popular News: