Glenn Weiss Wins DGA Award for 64th Annual Tony Awards Broadcast

News   Glenn Weiss Wins DGA Award for 64th Annual Tony Awards Broadcast
Glenn Weiss, who directed the broadcast of the 64th Annual Tony Awards, received an award from the Directors Guild of America for his work in the category of Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Musical Variety. The DGA Awards were held Jan. 29 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Los Angeles.

Weiss shared the award with associate directors Gregg Gelfand, Robin Abrams and Ricky Kirshnerm, and with stage manager: Garry Hood, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Dean Gordon, Phyllis Digilio Kent, Arthur Lewis, Joey Meade, Tony Mirante, Cyndi Owgang, Jeff Pearl, Elise Reaves and Lauren Class Schneider. This is Weiss' second DGA Award out of seven nominations. He previously won the DGA award in this category in 2007 for The 61st Annual Tony Awards. He received nominations in this category in 2008, 2006, 2005, 2002 and 2001 for the 62nd, 60th, 59th, 56th and 55th Annual Tony Awards, respectively.

Other winners at the awards ceremony included Tom Hooper, who won in the Feature Film category for "The King's Speech"; Martin Scorsese, who took the Dramatic Series category for his work on HBO's "Boardwalk Empire"; Michael Spiller, who was awarded in the comedy series category for ABC's "Modern Family"; Mick Jackson, who was awarded in the Movies For Television and Mini-Series category for the HBO film "Temple Grandin"; and Charles Ferguson, who took documentary honors for "Inside Job."

The 64th Annual Tony Awards were broadcast on CBS on June 13, 2010.

Today’s Most Popular News: