Glenn Weiss Wins DGA Award for 70th Annual Tony Awards

Film & TV News   Glenn Weiss Wins DGA Award for 70th Annual Tony Awards
The awards were presented February 4 in Beverly Hills.
Glenn Weiss
Glenn Weiss Helga Esteb / Shutterstock, Inc.

Glenn Weiss was among the winners of the Directors Guild of America's Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for 2016, which were presented February 4 during the 69th Annual DGA Awards at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills.

Weiss won the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports—Specials for The 70th Annual Tony Awards, which were broadcast on CBS in June 2016. He previously won the same award in 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015 for the 61st, 64th, 65th, 66th, 67th, and 68th Annual Tony Awards.

Damien Chazelle won the DGA’s Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for La La Land. Click here for a complete list of winners.

Actor Jane Lynch hosted the ceremony before an audience of more than 1,200 guests. Presenters included Amy Adams, Michael Apted, Casey Affleck, Paris Barclay, Martha Coolidge, Laverne Cox, Billy Crudup, Michael Fassbender, America Ferrera, Cuba Gooding Jr., Ryan Gosling, Taylor Hackford, Tony Hale, Alex R. Hibbert, Gale Anne Hurd, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicole Kidman, Christine Lahti, Helen Mirren, Mandy Moore, Kevin Nealon, Christopher Nolan, Sarah Paulson, Gene Reynolds, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders, John Singleton, Emma Stone, Milo Ventimiglia, and Kerry Washington.

The Directors Guild of America is a labor organization that “represents the creative and economic rights of directors and members of the directorial team working in film, television, commercials, documentaries, news, sports, and new media.”


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: