Gloria Steinem, Cynthia Nixon, Roxane Gay, and More to Write for New Publication 3Views On Theater | Playbill

Industry News Gloria Steinem, Cynthia Nixon, Roxane Gay, and More to Write for New Publication 3Views On Theater The Lillys aim to launch the digital theatre publication with a roster of big-name writers.
Gloria Steinem, Cynthia Nixon, and Roxane Gay
Gloria Steinem, Cynthia Nixon, and Roxane Gay

The Lillys have announced a preliminary roster of writers for the new digital publication 3Views On Theater.

Alison Bechdel, Cassie da Costa, Alexander Chee, Eve Ensler, Roxane Gay, John Guare, Jessica Hagedorn, John Lahr, Paul Muldoon, Cynthia Nixon, Mary Louise Parker, Claudia Rankine, James Shapiro, Kathryn Schulz, Zadie Smith, Wally Shawn, Alisa Solomon, Gloria Steinem, and Monique Truong are all among the list of writers who will contribute original reviews, interviews, and purviews (responses to reviews, opinion pieces, etc.) to the online magazine.

The Lillys first announced their intention to expand theatre journalism and the voices within at the 2018 24-Hour Musicals. The organization previously launched a Kickstarter campaign to cover start-up costs, including website fees and editorial compensation.

The publication plans to invite other artists outside of theatre to contribute their perspectives to written work about the art form. Guest editors rotating on a monthly basis will curate content, reflecting different aesthetics, points of view, genders, races, and backgrounds. “Most importantly, 3Views will always leave room for artists to answer back, in order to create dialogue about the work and to empower artists,” reads a statement.

The founders of 3Views include P. Carl, Kathleen Chalfant, Kirsten Childs, Julia Cho, Kia Corthron, Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas, Eisa Davis, Madeleine George, Maria Manuela Goyanes, Stephen Adly Guirgis, Danai Gurira, David Henry Hwang, Phillip Howze, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Christine Jones, Daniel Alexander Jones, Julia Jordan, Jane Jung, Lisa Kron, Todd London, Mona Mansour, Martyna Majok, Ellen McLaughlin, Michelle Memran, Rachel Kauder Nalebuff, Marsha Norman, Lynn Nottage, Antoinette Nwandu, Penny Pun, José Rivera, Sarah Ruhl, Kaneza Schaal, Robert Schenkkan, Rebecca Taichman, Michelle Tse, Liesl Tommy, Marisa Tomei, Paula Vogel, Leah Nanako Winkler and Chay Yew. A secondary group of “first responders” also contributed to the 3Views launch and include Lynn Ahrens, Kristen Anderson Lopez, Tina Fallon, Gina Gionfriddo, Amanda Green, Amy Herzog, Quiara Alegría Hudes, Amelia Roper, Kathleen Marshall, Emily Morse, Leigh Silverman, Kate Whoriskey, Paula Vogel, and Doug Wright.

Go Inside the 19th annual Lilly Awards

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!