Inside the 2019 Jimmy Awards Hosted by Ben Platt

Photos   Inside the 2019 Jimmy Awards Hosted by Ben Platt
The 11th annual ceremony celebrated the best of high school musical theatre.

The winners of the 11th annual National High School Musical Theatre Awards—known more commonly as the Jimmy Awards—were revealed at the conclusion of the June 24 ceremony at the Minskoff Theatre. Check out the complete list of winners here.

Dear Evan Hansen Tony Award winner Ben Platt emceed the event, returning to the ceremony after hosting in 2017. The competition saw a record 86 students vying for the awards, each of whom previously won one of 43 regional competitions around the country. The group arrived in New York City last week, participating in a series of workshops, master classes, and rehearsals with such mentors and coaches as Telly Leung, Randy Graff, Maryann Hu, Adam Kantor, Michael McElroy, Jenni Barber, and Eliseo Roman.

WATCH: The 2019 Jimmy Award Nominees Sing ‘You Will Be Found’ With Dear Evan Hansen Star and 2018 Winner Andrew Barth Feldman

The Jimmy Awards, named for the late theatre owner and producer James M. Nederlander, were founded in 2009 by Nederlander Alliances, Pittsburgh CLO, and the Broadway Education Alliance and are presented through the Broadway League.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Education News